Carburetor adjustment??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Carburetor adjustment???

New Product Release: Flowmaster Force II Dual Tailpipe AxlNew Product Release: Flowmaster Force II Dual Tailpipe AxlUSA Made JK Rear Axles!!! Revolution Gear and Axle

Unread 06-27-2013, 10:36 AM   #1
Chlarock
1984 CJ7 

Carburetor adjustment???

I have a CJ7 258 with Carter BBD ( I just rebuilt), no stepper on it and a Nutter Bypass, no smog/air cleaning crap, no computer and a regular distributer with ignition coil. Pretty strait forward setup. All seems well except when you hit the gas hard/quick it sounds like it's starved for air and will stall. A slow press of the pedal and she revs up find. I know this is a bunt for some of you guys but I'm not an expert. Also...can anyone tell me what vac holes to plug and what needs to be open. I need air from someplace but I don't know where. The choke seems to be open but I don't know if it's open enough...maybe it's at about 45 degree angle. Some help PLEASE. Thanks.

Chlarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-27-2013, 11:14 AM   #2
firemanjim7
1983 CJ7 

Sounds like a fuel pressure issue. I'd start off by changing the fuel filter(make sure it's the right one and connected correctly). If that doesn't help check fuel pump. The float height might not be set properly too in the carb since the rebuild.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum
firemanjim7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-27-2013, 11:37 AM   #3
Chlarock
1984 CJ7 

Pump and filter are fairly new but had old gas in tank so filter could be it. About the float height though...too high or too low??? What do ya think? Thanks for the quick response also.
Unread 06-27-2013, 12:25 PM   #4
Jon In Tucson
Jesus Is Lord!

1983 CJ5 

Quote: