This can't be normal, right? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > This can't be normal, right?

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 03-19-2012, 12:42 PM   #1
pagnani
1983 CJ7 

This can't be normal, right?

Hello all,

I am new to JF and very new to owning a Jeep. I purchased an 83 CJ7 in December. I do not know a ton about cars but am willing to get in and figure things out if I have a little bit of direction. I know you guys will ask me to fill out the info about my CJ but I am unsure how to tell what I have. PO basically took my $1000 and handed me the keys and tittle.

The issue I have is that it is a little rough to start in the mornings. My initial thought is that it's not a huge deal since it's 30 years old, but my issue is the black specks all over the floor near the exhaust. I let her warm up for about 10 minutes in the morning and when I am ready to drive off there is quite the spray of black specs coming out of the exhaust. This pic will hopefully show what I am talking about

pagnani is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-19-2012, 12:44 PM   #2
pagnani
1983 CJ7 

Unread 03-19-2012, 12:48 PM   #3
Palmetto

1981 CJ7 

My guess (and I am not a guru, just an amateur) is that the specs are oil.

Seems like it may be worn rings (piston rings) allowing oil to blow by and exit through the valves
and then the exhaust.

I'm sure more seasoned individuals will give you additional info.

Do your duty in all things. You cannot do more, you should never wish to do less.
Robert E. Lee

Groups

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiabloYJ View Post
It's a Jeep thing, I don't even understand it sometimes.