Buy harness, or rebuild the one I have? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-30-2011, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
Diluted
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 50
Buy harness, or rebuild the one I have?

I yanked the dash on my CJ this weekend. The wiring is not _terrible_ but it has been cut and spliced quite a bit, and a couple of the wires have melted through their insulation. What could cause the melting?

The question is... It only looks to be about 20 wires, about 6-8 feet long. Is it really worth paying $180 for an EZ-wire harness, fuse block, etc, or is it reasonable to rewire the existing one? I'm still going to have to splice connectors onto the ends of the EZ-wire harness. The existing harness is glass tube fuses.

Pros of new harness:
spade fuses
new wire
less butt splicing, but not splice free
easier for future owners, not that I plan to sell it

Cons of new harness:
price
?

Who has rewired the harness themselves? Any pictures of the back of the fusebox? Better diagrams/pictures than in the Haynes?

Anyone know where to get the proper color/striped wire?

Thanks for helping a newb!

- Demian

Diluted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-30-2011, 09:43 AM
WindKnot
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,826
Why is a spade fuse "better"?

If you ask a splicer for the Telco or Electric co. what's the worst thing you can do to wire and they'll tell you "splice it". Having said that, taking your time and soldering as well as shrink taping your splices can give you excellent results in a harness lasting for years. It's when you use mechanical connectors that just tap or crush that you expose your work to corrosion and failures.

I'd ask myself if buying the correct colors and gauges of wire in sufficient quantities and the amount of work required to restore the harness is worth the cost savings, if any. I'm retired and have lots of time; you may not be in the same boat.

I'd rather be lost on the trails than found at home!

Phoenix Rising- A Flame Off Restoration? http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ph...ation-1807257/
WindKnot is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-30-2011, 09:43 AM
fireschmoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Loveland
Posts: 121
If your existing harness is "melted" then absolutly yes, no question, replace the wires. Honestly $180 is cheap to put a whole electrical system into your jeep and you will spend more than that.

My real suggestion would be to buy a factory fit harness from painless that has most the connections needed. since you are replacing it anyway, do it right, and know that it is done well. the fuse block has a bulkhead connection that goes through the firewall, and connects to the engine harness (that also comes with it). it makes a nice clean connection and is not hard to install. all wires are labled to where they go, and color coded correctly (for the most part)

just my

Patrick
www.WIREDHDH.com
Check out our new Switch panel system! 1/32" thick, a smaller foot print than a dollar bill, and programmable! http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Wir...66861113343250
fireschmoe is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-30-2011, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Diluted
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 50
I've looked at the painless harnesses, but I'm not really up to spending $500 on what appears to be $150 worth of copper and plastic because of the proprietary knowledge that painless has researched. I get that it's the easiest way, but it's not necessarily the best way. The EZ-wire harness is reasonably priced, but obviously more work.

Time is not the issue. I have time enough since I'm not too concerned that the Jeep is not running at the moment. It would be nice to drive it more before it gets cold but sparks flying at my ankles told me I should take care of this first.

The whole harness is not melted, just a couple wires. One of the POs put an ammeter in the truck instead of a voltmeter, and i think they used this wire, which ended up pulling a large current.
Diluted is offline  
Reply

Tags
wiring harness

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
CJ Harness blueangel Jeep CJ Forum 3 06-27-2011 09:21 PM
What size wire should I use to rebuild my alternator harness ? MemphisCJ7 Jeep CJ Forum 6 05-29-2011 01:19 PM
Carter BBD rebuild: Does it matter which rebuild kit I use? Ken4444 Jeep CJ Forum 2 06-14-2010 11:01 AM
4pt harness bdeck Jeep CJ Forum 1 08-13-2008 12:17 PM
Harness fo T 176 jcal73 Jeep CJ Forum 0 08-03-2008 06:01 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome