Best way to test Brake Booster? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Best way to test Brake Booster?

Engo LED Flush Mount Lights *PAIR* Flood or Spot 1,600 LumYukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon ZipRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Unread 07-20-2005, 12:22 PM   #1
longlimb

Best way to test Brake Booster?

I think my brake booster is shot. When I press on the brake pedal and then start the engine, it doesn't go down any. The pedal is pretty far to the floor, if that gives anyone an idea as to whats wrong. I tried pumping the brake pedal and then turning the key, but nothing again.

Is there a way to test the vacuum line? can I just pull it off the booster and feel for air? I'm just learning how the vacuum system works so please excuse my ignorience.

Thanks all.

Unread 07-21-2005, 06:35 AM   #2
dawgates
Web Wheeler
1980 CJ7 

Do you have a vaccum tester/gauge? Disconnect the booster from the intake/carb and hook up a tester/gauge. pump up the tester and see if the vacuum gauge stays up. If these a leak you see the gauge drop. I would replace the line as cheap insurance.

Another way if you don't have a gauge if to start you're Jeep with your foot on the brake pedal. Feel if the pedal try's to push your foot up. That won't tell you if you have a leak, but it will tell you if the booster is working or not.

If the M/C and booster has never been replace, remember it's at least 25 years old and the rubber inside does go bad after awhile. Maybe instead of testing this and that, you should just replace the whole set-up. Save a bunch of your time and money.