Bad Gas milage in my CJ7 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Bad Gas milage in my CJ7

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!

Unread 04-29-2004, 01:43 PM   #1
rpparson

Bad Gas milage in my CJ7

I recently pruchased a 1984 CJ7 so i am new to the jeep world. The Jeep runs great and does not seem to have any problems except that I get about 7-8 miles per gallon. It has the 6 clyinder 258 in it and I was very shocked it was guzzeling so much gas. It does have 35 inch tires on it with the stock grears. I am assuming that is contributing to the problem. I was also wondering if it could be a carberator problem. I was considering trying to throw on a mc 2100, but I am really not a mechanic and kinda worried about messing something up. Does any body have any suggestions or recomendations?

rpparson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-29-2004, 03:25 PM   #2
jeepsarecool
1982 CJ7 

My suggestion is:

Do it.

or go with the Weber kit. Either one is tons better than the stock carter carb. As for the gas mileage, that might help, but probably isn't the only problem.

CJ7 - God's gift to the masochist.
jeepsarecool is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-29-2004, 05:04 PM   #3
JoeCJ
1981 CJ7