Autometer tach in a cj5 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Autometer tach in a cj5

WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Reply
Unread 03-05-2013, 09:26 AM   #1
blaylock6502
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wadesville, Indiana
Posts: 110
Autometer tach in a cj5

I put an autometer ultralight 2 in my 74 cj5. It is very jumpy and inaccurate. I contacted autometer and they said to put a 10k ohm .5 watt resistor inline with the signal wire to try to buffer some of the noise. I plan to do this was just curious if anyone had run into the same thing??

blaylock6502 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2013, 10:29 AM   #2
OleBlue73
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: , Tennessee
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaylock6502
I put an autometer ultralight 2 in my 74 cj5. It is very jumpy and inaccurate. I contacted autometer and they said to put a 10k ohm .5 watt resistor inline with the signal wire to try to buffer some of the noise. I plan to do this was just curious if anyone had run into the same thing??
Yes. It's due to the electrical interference (laymen's terms) given off by the plug wires. If you have a radio, you are probably experiencing speaker hum too. You can also swap to a higher suppression plug wire set, but the resistor is the cheaper route.
__________________
1973 CJ5, 304, T15, D20
2009 JKU, Rubicon
2005 TJ, X, 4.0, 6 speed
OleBlue73 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2013, 10:50 AM   #3
blaylock6502
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wadesville, Indiana
Posts: 110
Thanks a ton! I am a gm tech and have a ton of 10k 1/4 watt resistor will that work or do I need to find a 1/2 watt??
blaylock6502 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2013, 11:00 AM   #4
OleBlue73
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: , Tennessee
Posts: 460
You could try what you have and if it doesn't work, find a 1/2 watt.
__________________
1973 CJ5, 304, T15, D20
2009 JKU, Rubicon
2005 TJ, X, 4.0, 6 speed
OleBlue73 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.