Automatic transmission input shafts - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Automatic transmission input shafts

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineJeep Grand Cherokee Tie Rods & Adjusting Sleeves

Reply
Unread 03-01-2015, 09:38 PM   #1
kjonesie
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bryant, Arkansas
Posts: 131
Automatic transmission input shafts

I have 2 (supposedly the same) Torqueflite 904 transmissions. The input shafts are different. Can anyone explain0301151632.jpg

0301151633.jpg?

kjonesie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2015, 06:33 AM   #2
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert, CO
Posts: 12,172
Are you sure one isn't the 727?

"A lockup 727 transmission has about 5/8" of the end of the smaller input shaft machined smooth. "

http://www.allpar.com/mopar/torqueflite.html

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2015, 07:39 AM   #3
kjonesie
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bryant, Arkansas
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1981CJ7 View Post
Are you sure one isn't the 727?

"A lockup 727 transmission has about 5/8" of the end of the smaller input shaft machined smooth. "

http://www.allpar.com/mopar/torqueflite.html

Matt
The one with the tapered shaft came out of my 83 CJ7. Would it have been a 727?
kjonesie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2015, 09:35 AM   #4
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert, CO
Posts: 12,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjonesie View Post
The one with the tapered shaft came out of my 83 CJ7. Would it have been a 727?
I think AMC did use the 727, but not on '80s CJs.

The TF999 was used on all I6 and V8 CJs from '80-'86. The TF904 was used with the 4-banger CJs.

I guess it's possible the 727 could have been swapped into the '83 CJ7.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2015, 09:53 AM   #5
kjonesie
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bryant, Arkansas
Posts: 131
When I bought my torque converter, I got one for the 9 series trannsmissions. It was only a guess on my part that it is a 904.
kjonesie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2015, 09:55 AM   #6
lucdog
Web Wheeler
 
lucdog's Avatar
1980 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , Il.
Posts: 8,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1981CJ7
I think AMC did use the 727, but not on '80s CJs. The TF999 was used on all I6 and V8 CJs from '80-'86. The TF904 was used with the 4-banger CJs. I guess it's possible the 727 could have been swapped into the '83 CJ7. Matt
727 in FSJ's. Unless the CJ is lifted,4" or more, there would be interference issues with the front drive shaft. (727)

The easiest way to ID a tranny is to google tranny pan identification.
__________________
1957 WILLYS pickup,
1973 J 4000,
1978 CJ7 DD.
1979 CJ7 360, TH400/Quadratrac.
1979 J20
1980 CJ5 trail Jeep.
1983 CJ7
1989 YJ the CJ to YJ.
lucdog is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2015, 06:18 AM   #7
ctm
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 1,439
The first pic is a lock up trans. There are 904 and 999 lock ups out there. I have a 999 lock up in a 84 CJ7.
ctm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2015, 11:31 AM   #8
kjonesie
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bryant, Arkansas
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctm View Post
The first pic is a lock up trans. There are 904 and 999 lock ups out there. I have a 999 lock up in a 84 CJ7.
Could you explain what a lock up is
kjonesie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2015, 12:31 PM   #9
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 13,298
The torque convertor will lock up at certain speeds so there is 100% power transmission. A non-lockup convertor will always have some slippage.
CSP is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.