Anybody running propane? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Anybody running propane?

G2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ ChBill Baird Motorsports DIY parts - NalinMFG.comEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 01-12-2010, 07:43 PM   #1
Roadymi
1982 CJ7 

Anybody running propane?

I posted these questions in the ENGINE & DRIVETRAIN section and got 0 response so I will try here. I bought a propane system on ebay (still in transit) for my 360. I deliver propane for a living but we don't have any propane powered vehicles and I've not been around one.

I am looking for any tips on getting the system up and running. This is a single fuel setup that replaces the carb. I am also looking for suggestions on tanks. I am debating between using forklift cylinders or mounting a permanent tank. My rig is a weekend trail warrior so 20 gal or so should get me through most weekends. I can always carry a portable to refuel a permanent tank if I went that route. Any pics of how you mounted your tanks would be appreciated.

Roadymi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-12-2010, 07:46 PM   #2
Matt_G
1979 CJ5 

see if you can get connected with the guys from extreme 4x4. they just did a build with a propane/gas engine (it could switch between the two) and i'm sure if you watched the episode or emailed them on it they would help you out.
Matt_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-12-2010, 08:30 PM   #3
_Kyle_
2008 WK 

Subscribed....I still want to run prop in mine some day.

1996 Grand Cherokee

RIP Troy (bigbluezj94)

1996 ZJ FOR SALE
_Kyle_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-12-2010, 08:31 PM   #4
JeepnBlake
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Jeephammer had a great post on this a week or 2 ago.