Another Jeep CJ7 Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Another Jeep CJ7 Build

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Unread 04-03-2008, 02:44 PM   #1
andresesquire
1984 CJ7 

Another Jeep CJ7 Build

Hello everyone. I enjoy keeping up with all the different builds on the forum and thought others might enjoy mine. Nothing fancy or spectacular here. My goal is to restore my jeep to as close to factory original as possible. I am not a mechanic or a welder, but I am pretty handy. So here goes...

Searched Florida for about two months. I was looking for an original, unmolested CJ7 with a solid frame. I finnally gave up. They seem hard to find around here and were too expensive.

Got one on ebay for $2,000.00, but I had to drive to Louisiana to get it. Probably paid too much, but it was just what I was looking for.

Spent about a month taking it apart. I wish I had been a little better organized, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

Engine only had 72,000 miles on it and ran great. No smoke or any other issues.

With the exception of the rear crossmember and the back four frame to body mounts, the frame was in great shape. 90% of the paint still and no rot.

Replaced the rear crossmember

And the back four frame to body mounts. That was a monumental task. I was very careful to put them back on in the same place. I used the ones from 4wd hardware. They seem alot stronger than the ones that were there originally.

Spent the next several weekends removing the paint with aircraft remover and sandpaper.

More posts to follow.

andresesquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-03-2008, 07:21 PM   #2
CJeep
Alpha dog