Aftermarket Water Temp Gauge Suggestions - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
Aftermarket Water Temp Gauge Suggestions

ok guys, I don't trust my original temp gauge, i'm thinking of buying an aftermarket gauge... I have a 84 CJ7 i6... what have you guys bought and trust that it worked for you... pics or some info would be kind... thanks

rickscj7boom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 07:45 PM
drerict
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alamosa, CO
Posts: 121
I would like to know also . . . someone please respond

Firefighters Jeep Club

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
drerict is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 08:28 PM
SCSEAJAYSEVEN
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 108
All of my gauges in my '78 CJ-7 are SunPro,a division of Snapon Tools. I have the 2-1/8" gauges mounted in the dash. I have the mechanical water temp, mechanical oil pressure, vacuum gauge, electrical volt meter and a mechanical econo performance gauge and an electric tachometer mounted at the top of the steering column. I bought every one of them at Autozone or Advance Auto Parts.

I trust all of them, as they work well.
SCSEAJAYSEVEN is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 08:37 PM
robs7
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Louisville
Posts: 188
I have the Sunpro gauges as well. Very economical, look good, and I trust them. Rob
robs7 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
these mechanical gauges you guys speak of, did the sensor part of it fit into the block perfectly or did you guys use a thermostat housing type that a sensor can be put into it... the gauges I've seen so far looks like the sensor part wont fit the existing hole in the engine block.. please correct me if i'm wrong, i'm a rookie at all this..
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 02:30 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,811
Mechanical Temp sensor wont fit original hole.
Some use a hole in the block but I think the Thermostat housing is the best.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 02:34 PM
Balvar24
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rock Ridge
Posts: 5,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Mechanical Temp sensor wont fit original hole.
Some use a hole in the block but I think the Thermostat housing is the best.
This.

I had to use a CTO hole in the block.

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard, grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
Balvar24 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Mechanical Temp sensor wont fit original hole.
Some use a hole in the block but I think the Thermostat housing is the best.
thank you sir.. finding a thermostat housing with that option, I will research it but if you have a link or part number would be awesome.. how close of years in jeeps is the housing the same ... I found these links, is this what I need?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA1G20GD3248
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 02:49 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickscj7boom View Post
thank you sir.. finding a thermostat housing with that option, I will research it but if you have a link or part number would be awesome.. how close of years in jeeps is the housing the same ... I found these links, is this what I need?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA1G20GD3248

That seems to be for a V8.

Usually the 4.0 thermostat housing will be just what you need for a 258 i6.

http://www.quadratec.com/products/51209_08.htm



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 06-12-2013, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
perfect sir... thanks.. .. you guys rule!!
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 01:52 AM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
Ok guys, so I got the housing suggested above . My new problem is that the temp gauge probe is to long and hits the inside of the housing .. Did I get the wrong temp gauge, do they sell one with a shorter temp gauge probe..
Attached Thumbnails
image-3033188129.jpg  
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickscj7boom
Ok guys, so I got the housing suggested above . My new problem is that the temp gauge probe is to long and hits the inside of the housing .. Did I get the wrong temp gauge, do they sell one with a shorter temp gauge probe..
Even with the brass fitting it came with it still hits..
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 11:02 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,811
Who's gauge did you buy?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John Strenk is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
rickscj7boom
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: imperial
Posts: 241
This is what autozone and orileys have down here

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...0527&ppt=C0134
rickscj7boom is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 03:41 PM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
They may not be the best (or brightest) gauges but I've always used Auto Meter gauges and whatever gauge you go with I reccomend a wide sweep 270* gauge.



As I wanted to keep that factory electrical gauge in the speedometer hub I had only one spot for the sender on this gauge, in a water jacket on the intake manifold;



Edit. There was a steel pipe plug in this port when I got 'BB' had to use PB and my little butane torch to get the little facker out. Then it was just a matter of getting a common adapter from NAPA in their brass and copper fittings area.

The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome