Advice on CJ project - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Advice on CJ project

Halloween Savings to die for!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 02-02-2002, 03:41 PM   #1
I-Man

Advice on CJ project

This is my first time on this site. The advice I seek is three-fold:

1)I am planning a to equip a CJ7 with stainless steel body panels. I have sourced every aspect of the body except for the doors. Could anyone recommend someone they think would consider creating stainless steel door panels for the full & half doors?

2)I am looking to equip my jeep with a Corvette 350 TPI. I enjoy the power and flexibility that this motor provides (over the stock motor.) My jeep will be a daily driver. Any comments on this choice of engine, difficulty with mounting, etc?

3)Although I like the rough ride the original CJs had, I wouldn't mind shocks that, perhaps, would offer a ride more resembling that of the modern TJ. My jeep will be used for lighter off-road use, but mainly for city & highway. Any suggestions on this front?

Much appreciation for any advice,

Ian

I-Man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-03-2002, 10:00 AM   #2
CJ Lover

the 350 is a great engine to put into your Jeep. it aint a very hard conversion. you just need new engine mounts (which you can fabricate yourself or buy) and a new bellhousing assembly.

suspension wise, i think you should go with a skyjacker kit. it gives a nice smooth highway ride and great articulation off road
Unread 02-03-2002, 03:49 PM   #3
Jeep CJ5

Just a quick thought....if you are going thru the expense and trouble of stainless panels why not go spend a bit more and put on a new body?