86 Laredo - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 86 Laredo

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Reply
Unread 05-16-2011, 10:54 AM   #1
Daryl
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: smiths creek, mich
Posts: 5
86 Laredo

I hope somebody can help. I have an 86 laredo with a 30 front end . I am trying to get new rotors for it & twice auto parts stores are giving me the wrong ones. Problem is rotors will not fit over the hub, the hole in the center is too small. My hub measures 4.187 that would be the center front hole & the back hole that has to set flush so I can bolt rotor to spindle measures 7.250. but both times the rotor diameters are to small to fit. Anybody know what the heack is going on ......HELP !!!!!

Daryl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-16-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
REDnBLUES
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 193
The Auto Parts Guys are dumb...they probably gave you a rotor for a YJ (late 86 and up) or something. Ask for a rotor for a 1985 instead, they are the same from 1981 to 1986 so it wont matter. If that doesnt work, try a new auto parts store with a clue.
REDnBLUES is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-16-2011, 03:53 PM   #3
Turtle71
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 566
Have you taken the old rotors off? The rotors mount to the back side of the hub. Wheel studs go through back of rotor and through hub. See pic:
Turtle71 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-17-2011, 06:36 AM   #4
Daryl
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: smiths creek, mich
Posts: 5
Thanks turtle
I took those apart two years ago. I am doing a frame off resto and just getting the frame up to a rolling chassie. All tha brake jobs I have done over the years have all been hub outside of spindle, never have I seen this set-up. Just shows you are never to old to learn new things.
Now that I'm done beating my head against the wall I can get back to work.
Thanks a Million
Daryl is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.