85 CJ7 258..done - need help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 85 CJ7 258..done - need help

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 08-26-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
DJatUGA
1985 CJ7 

85 CJ7 258..done - need help

que pasa all,

(cliffsnotes: I need a rebuilt 258 in Atlanta area, have core, need help with a trustworthy builder for the best price)

I should start by saying I'm fairly new to Jeeps, but definitely not to cars, forums, or the interwebs. I do realize that "google is my friend" and so is doing a little research on my own before expecting someone to do it for me.
That being said--I am gonna need a pardon on this one.

My father in law has a couple CJ's (nothing to get excited about, both a bit rough around the edges) and recently he told me he got a quote of $1100 to fix his leaking rear main, and also to do his clutch too "bc he had to take it off anyway"--immediately I laughed, and volunteered to do it for him, and advised him to seek a new mechanic for future repairs, or at least one willing to look into the particular vehicle he/she is giving estimates on.

Well, I should have kept my mouth shut--the main bearing is showing more than a little wear, and I advised him to replace/rebuild his engine. Yes, Its that bad. Pics to follow of course.

Currently, its all back together in my garage, running (if thats what you wanna call it) but he wants me to just source an engine with zero miles, switch it out and then he will come get it back.

Truthfully, I would never just replace it with a rebuilt 258, but he probably drives this jeep 150 miles a year and while money isn't a factor, it needs to be relative to what he uses (or doesn't use) it for.