84 CJ7 Stuck Oil Pan - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 84 CJ7 Stuck Oil Pan

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 04-14-2013, 03:25 PM   #1
Marsh4130
1984 CJ7 

84 CJ7 Stuck Oil Pan

I'm new to Jeeps, but had always wanted one... I got one... Been fixing more than driving.

It's got a 258, stock. I have read every thread on the internet. I'm attempting to replace my RMS. I've read all of the RMS threads on multiple forums. I pulled the passenger motor mount and removed all the bolts from the pan but the thing won't budge. I've tried the wedge a putty knife trick, the pry bar, beat with a mallet and a hammer, done pull ups from the skid plate... everything. It's won't budge. Ideas? Thanks!

Marsh4130 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 04:18 PM   #2
walkerhoundvm
1981 CJ8 

Bigger hammer?

Sounds like the last owner did a great job sealing it with RTV. You're gonna have to get in there and break that seal with a putty knife, and you may wind up replacing the oil pan after all is said and done unfortunately.
walkerhoundvm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-14-2013, 04:52 PM   #3
Marsh4130
1984 CJ7 

Thanks! I'm not worried about the pan. I already have a replacement one as the current one took a hard hit somewhere and is dented. I've had a hard time getting the putty knife in because of the lack of room to hit the back of it with a hammer. I've thought about drilling some holes in it and attempting to "winch" it of with some brilliant rigging job to get downward force on the pan. Any advice on good or bad idea?