'84 CJ7 Engine Conversion to GM 4.3 Vortec - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > '84 CJ7 Engine Conversion to GM 4.3 Vortec

New jk doors from steinjagerOconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andWarn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCOR

Unread 04-02-2008, 03:25 AM   #1
tcarlton
1984 CJ7 

'84 CJ7 Engine Conversion to GM 4.3 Vortec

I'm wanting to start a thread as I work through my engine swap. This is the largest mechanical project I have began so I want to poll the experts and share the experience. I live in Northern California so the swap will need to be smog legal.

About me:
I'm a student at Southern Oregon University and live in Redding, CA. I'm not a master mechanic but have done everything I can within my limits.

The Jeep:
I have an 84 CJ7 that had an underpowered 4 cylinder, so i bought a 4.3 engine out of a 2000 blazer. It came with the 4L60E tran, GM radiator(which doesn't fit), everything under the hood including computer, wiring harness, starter, fuse boxes, etc.(Got it all for $1150)

Where i am now:
I have pulled out my old engine and tranny. Unbolted the transfer case which i am going to use(Dana 300). This weekend I am going to undercoat the body and spray a bedliner material in the engine compartment(If i get that far.) cost for this will be around $150 for materials.

Things to buy:
tranny to transfer case adapter... about $450, and another $200ish for a shop to install shafts.
conversion radiator... $275 ebay
engine mounts... $130 novak
twin stick transfer case... $100
lokar auto floor shifter... $175 ebay