'79 CJ7 Engine electrical questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > '79 CJ7 Engine electrical questions

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 04-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Jeepkid1995
1979 CJ7 

'79 CJ7 Engine electrical questions

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to jeeps and I'm on the tail end of a full body off restoration. I have hit a few problems rewiring the engine electrical. Probably some very stupid questions, but I have a few extra wires left over. First of all, what hooks up to the starter and from where? I am having troubles with the Haynes diagram. Second, I have a fiberglass tub, and the negative battery terminal grounds to the engine block. Do I need to now ground the block to the frame? Any help would be appreciated, I can't for the life of me figure it out. Probably an important note, I have a rebuilt 258.
Thanks

Jeepkid1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2012, 08:25 PM   #2
skizriz
Web Wheeler

1978 CJ7 

Here's the wiring diagram you need. Save this to a file, and print it up. You can never have too many GOOD grounds. To the block, to the frame, to the grill shell, dash, etc....

Unread 04-23-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
Jeepkid1995
1979 CJ7 

This diagram is clearer than the haynes, but still serves to confuse the hell out of me.
Unread 04-23-2012, 09:57 PM   #4
paulsalchow
1985 CJ7