79 cj5 rotor removal - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 79 cj5 rotor removal

Savvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 08-16-2014, 03:28 PM   #1
alafreakinbama

79 cj5 rotor removal

I'm trying to replace the brakes and rotors. I'm a novice at this. Most of the time I can find info on YouTube to get me by, but I'm stuck.

image-3849001512.jpg

I've got the rotors to here. I'm missing something because I cannot figure out what to do next. I've tried pulling the rotor off from here. Any help would be much appreciated.

alafreakinbama is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2014, 06:28 PM   #2
firegod33
1977 CJ5 

I don't see it in the pic but there should be a snap ring around the stub shaft. Remove it, if it's there and pull the inner part of the locking hub off the axle. Behind that, will be the spindle nuts.
Unread 08-16-2014, 07:02 PM   #3
dg6772
1986 CJ7 

Once they are removed the rotor and hub will come off as one unit. From there I put the rotor on the floor on two pieces of 4X4 then with a brass bar I knock out the wheel studs. After that I turn the assembly over, put a 2x4 on the hub and drive it from the rotor. The hub and rotor are 2 separate parts. Reassemble in the reverse,but I drive the wheel studs back in with my brass bar,and tighten down with an impact and a lug nut on some washers to make sure they are all the way seated. Not too hard to do.....good luck

Dave in Muskegon using JeepForum
dg6772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2014, 07:39 PM   #4
Dborns
1983 CJ7 

Once you get too the spindle nut, you'll need one of these:
wrench-1-2-inch-drive-spindle-nut-socket-a692n_1999.jpg

Dborns is offline   Reply With Quote