79 CJ5 304 rear main seal repair - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 79 CJ5 304 rear main seal repair

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Unread 01-06-2011, 04:49 PM   #1
kponytail
1979 CJ5 

79 CJ5 304 rear main seal repair

I thought I would start a thread on changing the rear main seal on a 304. Keep in mind I have never changed a rear main seal in a jeep or any other vehicle, I am a weekend warrior mechanic. I have read every thread that I could find on JF about rear main seals. I have used tips from all of them. I will take pictures and document each step. Jump in and let me know if there is a easer way or better way.

1) I chalked the wheels, unhooked the positive battery cable.
2) I unhooked the battery cable from the starter.
3) I removed both bolts from the starter and took it out and set it aside.
4) With the starter out of the way I loosened the passenger side motor mount, there are 3 bolts. One bolt has a ground wire attached from the block to the frame. I did not remove these bolts I only loosened them enough so when I jack up the motor it will only move about a 1/2 "

I will pick up where I left off Tomorrow evening.

kponytail is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-09-2011, 04:00 PM   #2
kponytail
1979 CJ5 

Today the first thing I did was drain all oil out of the pan

I jacked up the motor with a standard floor jack and a piece of 2x4

This picture shows how much seperation was needed from the motor mount to the block to get the oil pan off.

5) With the motor jacked up and all oil drained, I removed all the oil pan bolts.