78 CJ7 258 Engine Questions! (Lots of PICS!) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 78 CJ7 258 Engine Questions! (Lots of PICS!)

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 09-09-2013, 05:27 PM   #1
78RenegadeCJ7
1978 CJ7 

78 CJ7 258 Engine Questions! (Lots of PICS!)

Im new to CJs, first time CJ owner I should say. I drive a built XJ and such so I know a good bit about those. Bought this CJ and drove it home. Just now getting around to fixing some stuff and had a couple of questions and concerns regarding the engine. Its the single barrel carb and looks to be stock, I dont know much about them nor what a factory fresh cj engine looked like either. Anyway here is the engine bay....

My first concern is the PCV grommet and valve, ordered one from NAPA and it is there waiting on me, but does it go straight to the carb and thats it?

2nd question....WHERE IS THIS SUPPOSE TO GO?

3rd question is this suppose to be pinched off like this? i dont know what it is called

4th question is this suppose to go somewhere or just leave it plugged?

5th question.. what would mount here? another carb?

6th question the thing in my hand by my finger? is it suppose to be cut off?

7th question... where does this line from the diff suppose to go?

8th and final question... would you say this is the stock breather? and where does the round end clamp looking thing suppose to sit?

78RenegadeCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-09-2013, 05:44 PM   #2
walkerhoundvm
1981 CJ8 

Whoo boy, you been bubbafied!

1. Yes, the PCV valve goes to a manifold vacuum source on the carb. The other side goes to you canister purge port.