78 cj - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 78 cj

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 05-29-2004, 06:11 PM   #1
CHILIREDXJ

78 cj

hi. i am new to this part of the forum. i frequent the xj part of jeepforum. i ran across an old friend who's father has a 78 cj. he bought it to plow, used it one winter, and it sat this past winter. i want it bad. i want to make him an offer, but don't know where to start. i am curious as to what axles were offered then, and what engines. the thing is in great shape. the green diamond plating kicks arse. help

Unread 05-29-2004, 08:31 PM   #2
BESRK
GROUND POUNDER

1980 CJ5 

It should have a Dana 30 front axle and AMC Model 20 rear axle (probably with 2 piece axle shafts ). Probably has a Dana 20 transfer case or maybe Qtrac? (can't remember off the top of my head what years Quadratrac was offered). If the rear diff is centered it'll be a Dana 20. If it's a 6 banger it's probably a 258 AMC motor. Can't remember if 304s V8s were offered in 78. Tranny could be a T150 3 speed, or maybe (rare) a T18 4 speed. Might be easier for you to take a look, write down some notes or better yet, take digital pics, and post them back up here for dissection. My first Jeep was a 78 CJ7. Good luck!

Ground Pounder Fab

Lower 2

Guardrail

Down Schoolbus

Slickrock Tellico

Save

Crozet

More Crozet
BESRK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-29-2004, 09:56 PM   #3
plain76cj5

1978 CJ : axles Front Dana 30
Rear AMC 20

engines 258 6 cylinder
304 V8

transfer case Dana 20 or Quadra-trac

tranny T-150 3 speed or T-18 4 speed
Turbo 400 (with Quadra-trac and V8)