74' CJ5 Speedometer - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 74' CJ5 Speedometer

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Savvy FREE SHIPPING!Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Reply
Unread 04-05-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
FallibleXJ
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 35
74' CJ5 Speedometer

Hopefully this is a "quick" question. I have a 74' CJ5, and the speedometer is buster. The needle is just hanging around in there.

A. Is this easily fixed?
B. If I was to buy a replacement, what years are compatible? I've read that the OMIX ones are junk..

C. How do I remove that bad boy? Can it be done without removing the dash?

FallibleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 08:45 AM   #2
rah2eq
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 109
It depends on your problem. The issue could just be that your speedometer cable, which runs from the back of the speedo to the transfercase in my 78, is broken. If you search around you can find testing procedures to determine if this is the problem. Or the problem could be with the actual speedometer magnets which move the needle when your cable spins. This case would require that you replace your speedometer.
In response to your other question, the speedometer assembly is held onto the dash on the back side with 4 3/8" nuts on my 78. Extremely easy to take off compared to some things on the Jeep...
With aftermarket replacements I've really only seen the ones that go from 0-90 mph, 5-whatever mph, and the ones for km/h.
__________________
1978 CJ5 - 304 V8 - Twin Sticked and sitting on 35's
2010 JK- Rock Krawler 2.5" on 35" KM2's
rah2eq is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 09:33 AM   #3
FallibleXJ
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 35
Its not the cable, the miles are still ticking by I just can't tell how fast Im going. So any CJ speedo should fit as long as its the same range? Im probably just going to get one off of ebay if I can.
FallibleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 09:46 AM   #4
requiembell
Registered User
1983 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fort Rucker, alabama
Posts: 70
Check out http://classychassisrestoration.com

Talk to Kevin and he can talk you through sending yours in. I am like you and didn't want to have to use a cheap knockoff of my gauge. I have all mine enroute to him for restoration and he checks them all for accuracy before sending them back to you.
__________________
[FONT="Microsoft Sans Serif"][COLOR="Red"]"I am an archer, the arrows I sling weigh over one hundred lbs, can range 5 miles and hit a spot the size of a fist. They will penetrate any known armor on this planet. AH-64D Longbow ... [B]I retired from it but not it from me[/B]."
[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][FONT="Microsoft Sans Serif"]God Bless our troops and God help our enemies.[/COLOR][/FONT]
requiembell is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 01:10 PM   #5
FallibleXJ
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 35
Thanks! I'll be sure to check them out, I just got done taking out the old one... it may only be 4 3/8" nuts but that's a royal PITA...
FallibleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 01:19 PM   #6
FallibleXJ
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 35
Well... took all of 5 minutes to find the problem... the little pine for the needle is busted in half. Hense why it was still ticking over miles but not showing a speed.
FallibleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 01:39 PM   #7
FallibleXJ
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 35
Will any CJ 0-90 gauge work? I noticed my gauge's face only has lights for left, right and high beams but it has bulbs in back for much more.
FallibleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2013, 03:21 PM   #8
bradleybrb
Member
 
bradleybrb's Avatar
1975 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: , MS
Posts: 485
I think they will. I had problems out of the one on my 75. I took it completely apart and used some parts off a 78 that I had. I wanted white face gauges, but the original look so I sent it to Zach at whitefacegauges.net I believe. They calibrated (or whatever) the speedometer and checked everything out. It looked great when I got it back.
bradleybrb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.