72cj5 clutch cable question - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-09-2014, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
71cj
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: san martin
Posts: 33
72cj5 clutch cable question

hey yall i got a 72 cj5 304v8 with a t15 three speed.my question is how is the clutch cable routed and how does it attatch to the floor board.i just have a hole where it comes up through and when you push the clutch it does not move the clutch fork or do anything a picture would be great from on top and under the truck so i can figure out what i got goin on here.also how is it routed under the truck im wonderin if im missin a bracket or something i got like 3 feet of cable just stuffed up under the frame

71cj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-09-2014, 10:32 PM
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
 
jeepdaddy2000's Avatar
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 7,144
The stock pedal end should have a clip that retains it. This end is pushed up from under the floorboard then the clip installed. The cable is routed between the frame rail and the body in a loop back to the bracket on the side of the transmission.

These cables are prone to failure. The early ones would simply pull up through the floorboard. All are prone to seizing and sticking. The simplest upgrade is to find a 73-75 pedal and bellcrank assembly complete and swap it in. Others have installed a later CJ hydraulic setup.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-10-2014, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
71cj
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: san martin
Posts: 33
thanks man whered you get that picture so i can blow it up
71cj is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 01-10-2014, 06:52 PM
dg6772
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 2,047
Wow, I've never run across a cable operated clutch in a cj. Damn it! Learned something new again!

Dave in Muskegon
dg6772 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-18-2014, 02:09 PM Thread Starter
71cj
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: san martin
Posts: 33
haha is that unusual ?**** i dunno its my first jeep project.built alot of chevys but figured these jeeps are pretty damn cool
71cj is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-20-2014, 10:05 AM
pritchaj2000
Registered User
1972 CJ5 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Highlands, NJ
Posts: 51
You may want to look at upgrading to the linkage style. My '72 had the cable originally, and it never worked well. The kit from Quadratec should work perfectly for you.

Part "A1" in the diagram Clutch Linkage Kit

This is how I mounted it in my '72. the transmission bell housing had the two holes to mount one side of the linkage, and I had to drill the holed in the body tub to mount the other side.














Al Pritchard - 1972 Renegade | AMC 304

Build thread: http://www.earlycj5.net/forums/showthread.php?78780-1972-CJ-5-Almost-Restoration
pritchaj2000 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-20-2014, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
71cj
Registered User
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: san martin
Posts: 33
very cool thank you
71cj is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-22-2014, 11:47 AM
jeepdaddy2000
Registered User
 
jeepdaddy2000's Avatar
1971 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 7,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by dg6772 View Post
Wow, I've never run across a cable operated clutch in a cj. Damn it! Learned something new again!

Dave in Muskegon
Pre 71 V6 CJ's used a cable.
They were very unreliable, which led to AA to market a chain/sprocket "upgrade" to replace them (the chain control assembly will work on all early CJ's as well, allowing the replacement of a worn bellcrank assembly).
My guess is AMC had a few left over and decided to use them up in 72.
jeepdaddy2000 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-22-2014, 01:39 PM
steve1973
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Charlestown
Posts: 309
I had a cable in my 72 cj5 back in 84. I remember at least 3 of them breaking and needing to get the part from the dealer for 20 or so bucks back then. It was a major design flaw.
steve1973 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-22-2014, 01:41 PM
CSP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15,884
An upgrade would be to go hydraulic. There are several examples of this documented on the web.
CSP is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome