4.0 swap alternator wiring - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 09:57 AM
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86cj74.2L View Post
In the PCM pin out look for the two wires labeled generator field - and generator field source + those are your field wires.
Right, but the problem is that the alternator is not labeled to identify which wire goes where.


SLO_Ken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
Yes, thanks ken. That's what I'm trying to figure out
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 01:20 PM
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 9,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigemags05
Yes, thanks ken. That's what I'm trying to figure out
Do you have that part of the harness? If not go get one and line up the colors. You should have it anyway because of the integral case ground.
86cj74.2L is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
I'm not sure what you mean.


I have the hesco harness that I am using for the swap. I do also have the original 4.0 harness, but its not connected to the alternator.
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 02:46 PM
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
On the original 4.0 harness, there should be a connector that looks like this


The two middle contacts are the field terminals. They should be connected to two wires, one Dark Green, and one Dark Green w/ Orange stripe. The DG should be Generator Driver (+), and the DG/O should be Generator Driver. If you can figure out which is which, that would be great!
SLO_Ken is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
Oh ok. So the the dark green with orange should be the terminal I hook the blue wire (from hesco) harness to and the one with just green would have the wire going to the battery?
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 03:43 PM
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
I think that's correct. If you would be so kind as to let us know which is which, I'd appreciate it.
SLO_Ken is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
I sure will. I am waiting on my torque converter to get in. Might be Saturday before i can get work on it
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
Alright, I took the plastic tubing off the wires and sure enough found a green wire and a green/orange wire



Do I just splice right in to those or should I pull these and connect the wires directly to the post and then wire another wire to the battery? Or could I wire the other (12 volt) wire to the B+ (output) terminal and run that to the solenoid or battery since its a heavier gauge wire?

Also, I have a new question (the hits just keep on coming):

The oil pressure sensor/ sending unit was wired to a connector that combined wires from the alternator and ac compressor. The hesco harness doesn't have a hook up or connection for the oil pressure sensor or the connector that it was previously wired to. How would I wire this up to make sure it works properly?

Would I need to figure out which pin it goes to on the PCM and wire it directly to that?
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 09:51 PM
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Do I just splice right in to those or should I pull these and connect the wires directly to the post and then wire another wire to the battery? Or could I wire the other (12 volt) wire to the B+ (output) terminal and run that to the solenoid or battery since its a heavier gauge wire?
On the '98 that I'm working with, both the field wires come from the ECM. On yours, it sounds like you have the right idea. The blue wire should go to whichever terminal had the green/orange wire going to it, and the other should get wired to +12V.

Quote:
The oil pressure sensor/ sending unit was wired to a connector that combined wires from the alternator and ac compressor. The hesco harness doesn't have a hook up or connection for the oil pressure sensor or the connector that it was previously wired to. How would I wire this up to make sure it works properly?

Would I need to figure out which pin it goes to on the PCM and wire it directly to that?
I don't know what the PCM does with the oil pressure signal, if anything. You may want to get a hold of Hesco again to see what they recommend.
SLO_Ken is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 03-19-2013, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
I'll give them a call tomorrow. I bet they're tired of hearing from me, haha.
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 03-20-2013, 07:36 AM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
Edit
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 03-20-2013, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
Alright, just got off the phone with Benny at hesco again.


the oil pressure sending unit and temp sending unit must be used from the previous engine.
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 03-20-2013, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 658
For the temperature gauge, would it work to use this part from hesco?

http://www.hesco.us/products/7969/th...4#.UUnR9Pq9Kc0

Also, will the oil pressure sensor from the 4.2 fit into the thread for the sensor on the 4.0 or will I have to splice In the connector and use the 4.0 sensor?
Gigemags05 is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 03-20-2013, 10:55 AM
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigemags05 View Post
For the temperature gauge, would it work to use this part from hesco?

http://www.hesco.us/products/7969/th...4#.UUnR9Pq9Kc0

Also, will the oil pressure sensor from the 4.2 fit into the thread for the sensor on the 4.0 or will I have to splice In the connector and use the 4.0 sensor?
Yeah, that looks like it will work.

And yes, the oil pressure sender threads should be the same.
SLO_Ken is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome