4.0 swap alternator wiring - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 4.0 swap alternator wiring

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Reply
Unread 03-19-2013, 09:57 AM   #16
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86cj74.2L View Post
In the PCM pin out look for the two wires labeled generator field - and generator field source + those are your field wires.
Right, but the problem is that the alternator is not labeled to identify which wire goes where.


SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 10:04 AM   #17
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
Yes, thanks ken. That's what I'm trying to figure out
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 01:20 PM   #18
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigemags05
Yes, thanks ken. That's what I'm trying to figure out
Do you have that part of the harness? If not go get one and line up the colors. You should have it anyway because of the integral case ground.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 01:35 PM   #19
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
I'm not sure what you mean.


I have the hesco harness that I am using for the swap. I do also have the original 4.0 harness, but its not connected to the alternator.
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 02:46 PM   #20
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 819
On the original 4.0 harness, there should be a connector that looks like this


The two middle contacts are the field terminals. They should be connected to two wires, one Dark Green, and one Dark Green w/ Orange stripe. The DG should be Generator Driver (+), and the DG/O should be Generator Driver. If you can figure out which is which, that would be great!
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 03:20 PM   #21
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
Oh ok. So the the dark green with orange should be the terminal I hook the blue wire (from hesco) harness to and the one with just green would have the wire going to the battery?
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 03:43 PM   #22
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 819
I think that's correct. If you would be so kind as to let us know which is which, I'd appreciate it.
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 04:41 PM   #23
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
I sure will. I am waiting on my torque converter to get in. Might be Saturday before i can get work on it
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 07:04 PM   #24
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
Alright, I took the plastic tubing off the wires and sure enough found a green wire and a green/orange wire



Do I just splice right in to those or should I pull these and connect the wires directly to the post and then wire another wire to the battery? Or could I wire the other (12 volt) wire to the B+ (output) terminal and run that to the solenoid or battery since its a heavier gauge wire?

Also, I have a new question (the hits just keep on coming):

The oil pressure sensor/ sending unit was wired to a connector that combined wires from the alternator and ac compressor. The hesco harness doesn't have a hook up or connection for the oil pressure sensor or the connector that it was previously wired to. How would I wire this up to make sure it works properly?

Would I need to figure out which pin it goes to on the PCM and wire it directly to that?
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 09:51 PM   #25
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 819
Quote:
Do I just splice right in to those or should I pull these and connect the wires directly to the post and then wire another wire to the battery? Or could I wire the other (12 volt) wire to the B+ (output) terminal and run that to the solenoid or battery since its a heavier gauge wire?
On the '98 that I'm working with, both the field wires come from the ECM. On yours, it sounds like you have the right idea. The blue wire should go to whichever terminal had the green/orange wire going to it, and the other should get wired to +12V.

Quote:
The oil pressure sensor/ sending unit was wired to a connector that combined wires from the alternator and ac compressor. The hesco harness doesn't have a hook up or connection for the oil pressure sensor or the connector that it was previously wired to. How would I wire this up to make sure it works properly?

Would I need to figure out which pin it goes to on the PCM and wire it directly to that?
I don't know what the PCM does with the oil pressure signal, if anything. You may want to get a hold of Hesco again to see what they recommend.
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-19-2013, 10:09 PM   #26
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
I'll give them a call tomorrow. I bet they're tired of hearing from me, haha.
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 07:36 AM   #27
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
Edit
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 07:56 AM   #28
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
Alright, just got off the phone with Benny at hesco again.


the oil pressure sending unit and temp sending unit must be used from the previous engine.
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 09:14 AM   #29
Gigemags05
Registered User
1980 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 625
For the temperature gauge, would it work to use this part from hesco?

http://www.hesco.us/products/7969/th...4#.UUnR9Pq9Kc0

Also, will the oil pressure sensor from the 4.2 fit into the thread for the sensor on the 4.0 or will I have to splice In the connector and use the 4.0 sensor?
Gigemags05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 10:55 AM   #30
SLO_Ken
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigemags05 View Post
For the temperature gauge, would it work to use this part from hesco?

http://www.hesco.us/products/7969/th...4#.UUnR9Pq9Kc0

Also, will the oil pressure sensor from the 4.2 fit into the thread for the sensor on the 4.0 or will I have to splice In the connector and use the 4.0 sensor?
Yeah, that looks like it will work.

And yes, the oil pressure sender threads should be the same.
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.