304 is going to the reman shop. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 304 is going to the reman shop.

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 01-06-2012, 04:47 PM   #1
CadCaman
1983 CJ7 

304 is going to the reman shop.

Guys/Gals, I am a novice and need some help. Here's my story. I have a beautiful 83 CJ7. I am putting a 304 in it. I bought a 304 and am going to send it to the remanufacture shop. I am going to have them put the engine together for me. What I mean is I am asking them to put the intake manifold and carbuerator on also. The 258 I have in there now has no egr stuff on it. I am running electric to the HEI distributor and all the other computer stuff is gone. I want to do the same on my 304. Can I just get a non egr intake (Edelbrock Perfromer) and then I am good to go with just a carbuerator?

What kind of carb do you all suggest and should I go with what the engine rebuild guys called a "towing" cam that gives more horsepower and more torque?

This is the way I see it going. I get the engine rebuilt and assembled with a non egr manifold, HEI distributor, and a new carb. I get my transmission rebuilt while it is out (it's a 3 speed auto) I put the whole thing back together with some new mounts, headers and dual exhaust. I am looking for about 250 horsepower.

Thanks for listening and I would really appreciate a reply from some of you experienced folks. I hope to be experienced myself soon.

Thanks,

Jeff

CadCaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-06-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
walkerhoundvm
1981 CJ8