304 engine help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 304 engine help

Eliminate Hood Flutter!!!Thursday Savings BlastIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-28-2013, 07:42 AM   #1
matt1980
1980 CJ5 

304 engine help

Hello everyone, I am new to the jeep world and have purchased a 1980 CJ5. I have completely disassembled my new found toy and am just about to begin putting it back together. This jeep will be used both on the street and in any mud that is between my family and I's fishing hole. I will be taking the 304 I purchased to the machine shop next week and am wondering what I need to do for parts. Obviously if anything is broken it will be replaced but I do not want to throw money at this engine if it is not needed. I am not looking for tons of power, I only want a reliable engine that I will not have to build again in the near future. Looking for recommendations, valve springs? connecting rods? pistons? My original plan was to re ring the engine and call it a day, again if nothing is found when I tear it down this weekend, after reading a lot of what is posted here I have a lot of concern that simply re ringing the engine may not be a good idea. I know that I will have a much better idea after actually tearing down the engine but looking for more amc specific recommendations. Thank you all.

matt1980 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-02-2014, 10:15 AM   #2
matt1980
1980 CJ5