258 Holley Carb, Choke Stuck Closed - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 258 Holley Carb, Choke Stuck Closed

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueThanksgiving/Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals at JeepinOutfBlack Friday Sale!!

Unread 10-17-2009, 06:57 PM   #1
SEALLogan
1984 CJ7 

258 Holley Carb, Choke Stuck Closed

Hi,
I searched around, but could not find anything similar to my problem.

It is about 35 degree's here now, so it isn't fridgid, but it is cool. This is my first time running the jeep since it has gotten cold. We just got it this summer, and it has run pretty good during the warm months.

I went to start the jeep today, and it idled very high and had a lot of white smoke. I let it warm up for a good bit, and then went to drive it around to the garage to work on it. When I pushed on the gas to get going, the engine speed did not increase at all. I held the gas just above idle for about 10 seconds before the engine speed started to pick up at all. I let off the gas and the engine started running at a normal idle speed, but very rough.

Then the engine died. I went to restart it, and it wouldn't start. So I turned the key again, and the starter wouldn't even turn the motor. I waited 10 minutes, and the starter would turn the engine, but it wouldn't start.

I pulled the air cleaner off of the Holley carb with electric choke. I noticed the choke was all the way closed. I went to open it manually, and it wouldn't even move. I thought it was froze shut, so I put a little heat to it. That didn't free it. I hit it hard with the back of a screw driver, and it popped lose. Then it moved freely.