258 fuel pump and fuel line question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 258 fuel pump and fuel line question

Nitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ ChSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Unread 05-12-2013, 11:35 PM   #1
NateC
1985 CJ7 

258 fuel pump and fuel line question

I am new to Jeeps (but have definitely been bitten by the bug), and I am not a wrench-turner by any means. As such, I need some advice:

I have owned an '85 CJ-7 for about five months. The previous owner didn't deviate at all from stock other than to replace the original 258 with an ATK remanufactured/crate 258; replace the stock carb with a Weber; and delete emissions stuff, all about one year before he sold it to me. I have put about 2000 miles on the jeep since purchasing, all highway or easy cruising around town or on the beach.

Today, I noticed a fuel leak from the output fitting on top of the (mechanical) fuel pump, where the metal fuel line that goes around to the carb attaches to the pump. It appears that the weight of the fuel line and the (metal fuel filter on the other end) placed sufficient stress on this fitting that it started leaking. When I started monkeying with it, I only made the leak worse.

Question one: I assume this fitting isn't repairable, so I will need to replace the entire fuel pump?

Question two: There are two metal "s" clamps on the metal fuel line as if to run another hose alongside the fuel line, but nothing was attached and nothing suitable for attaching is anywhere under the hood. What are these clamps intended for? I assumed some of the emissions stuff, but figured it merited asking.