250 dizzy - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 250 dizzy

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Reply
Unread 07-07-2011, 07:38 AM   #1
copauls863
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winslow, Arizona
Posts: 122
250 dizzy

Anyone do this whole 250HEI distributor swap? I read somewhere it works, you just need to swap the gears. Anyone know of a good write up on it?

copauls863 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-07-2011, 07:40 AM   #2
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 10,204
Nothing to it, just change gears, use a V-8 gear, and plug it in.

The gears are the tricky part, some of the gears on the market a not high quality and sometimes cause problems.
Getting a V-8 gear through the dealership will keep you from getting one of the poor quality import gears.
JeepHammer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-08-2011, 07:06 PM   #3
copauls863
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winslow, Arizona
Posts: 122
Like same year jeep 360 gear? is it the exact same gear?

/edit: 304 i mean haha
would the one of of my 258 dis. work on the 250 one?
copauls863 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-08-2011, 07:54 PM   #4
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 10,204
Yup, AMC V-8 gear they are all the same.
Takes a 'V-8' gear to fit the shaft, I-6 gears are too small of a center hole.

V-8 gear on the I-6 GM HEI distributor will work, no problems.
JeepHammer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-08-2011, 08:00 PM   #5
copauls863
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winslow, Arizona
Posts: 122
cool man other than that i just have a +/- on the module connector right?
assuming that, i would just need to tap the - for the tach signal on my tbi?
and then the negative goes to ground? + i assume i can tap a wire from the old module?
also, ur the man, man
copauls863 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-08-2011, 10:44 PM   #6
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 10,204
You didn't say a thing about TBI...
Depending on the TBI you are using, you will need a GM HEI 7 pin module, fits right in where the standard 4 pin modules comes out...

Power wire comes through the ignition switch, 'Run' position (NOT the 'Accessory' position) and out to the 'BAT' connector terminal on the side of the distributor cap.

Your tach will depend on what tach you are running.
If it's a factory tach, Ignition switch, through tach, out to distributor.

If it's an aftermarket tach, then you should have instructions, usually a 'Green' wire out to the Negative terminal marked 'Tach' on the cap connector.

One is most aftermarket tachs are voltage signal triggered, meaning it counts the number of times the coil turn 'On' and 'Off',

The factory tach is a CURRENT triggered tach, and it has to run in series in the ignition source line.
Stupid way to do things, but this is AMC after all... Save them 5 cents on the extra wire.
JeepHammer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-09-2011, 10:58 AM   #7
copauls863
Registered User
1982 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winslow, Arizona
Posts: 122
I dont have a tach but i know the tbi has a wire hooked to the - on the coil, else it wouldnt run.
it is running a gm tbi, through howell. now its just sounding like too much work, the only reason i wanted to do it was to move everything to one unit and eliminate as many wires as possible..
so how would you wire the dis to work with the 7 pin put in it?
copauls863 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.