2.5 Liter to 4.2 liter swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 2.5 Liter to 4.2 liter swap

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Unread 02-01-2012, 11:21 AM   #1
jduress
1985 CJ7 

2.5 Liter to 4.2 liter swap

I bought a 1985 cj7 right when I graduated high school and have owned it for about a year now. It has some outer modifications (diamond plate, lift, lights, bumpers etc.) but the powertrain is factory stock. 2.5 AMC engine mated to the borg t5. dana 30 up front amc 20 rear and the dana 300 transfercase of course. I would like to swap in a 4.2 liter out of a cj7, cj5 whatever. What would I have to change besides the radiator, bell housing, and motor mounts? If anybody has done this swap and knows an approximate cost I would greatly apprieciate the advice! thanks!

jduress is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-01-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
only in a jeep cj
1986 CJ7 

I would find another CJ with a 6 in it and compare the other little things that can stop you like clutch linkage parts, wiring harness, air breather, throttle cable, fuel lines, etc. Used, Ive seen the 258 go from free to about 400 bucks. Another show stopper is going to be the input shaft of your T-5. You have a 14 spline now and need a 10 spline. You can swap the whole transmission or disassemble it and change just the input shaft. I was was searching for a donor 6 cyl Jeep motor and possible having to address the engine side of the harness as well, I would swap in a 91 to 95 4.0 and get the benefit of multi port fuel injection.

1975 CJ-6 304 T15 Dana20 30/44 3.73
1983 CJ-8 258 T5 300 30/44 3.31 Looking for full or half hardtop buy or trade