1st Jeep-need advice on engine options for my 86 258 with 999 trans - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1st Jeep-need advice on engine options for my 86 258 with 999 trans

TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGJEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 11-16-2012, 11:00 AM   #1
aufan
1986 CJ7 

1st Jeep-need advice on engine options for my 86 258 with 999 trans

Hey guys,

Im new to the tread and I just bought my first jeep 86' cj7 258 with auto transmittion dana 44 rear. Ive currently got it at the mechanic now looking it over to find any issues/ check for incorrect components from po/etc. It drives great other than I think the collant system needs work as some of the rubber lines are swollen. The the po installed a 4 barrel carb and trans cooler along with replacing some bad rotted lines. My first problem is that I live in Nashville , TN and have to take it through emissions to be street legal. When I took it through it failed misserably on the sniffer. Heres a few options im considering:

1.Find a way to get away without having to go through emmisions ( probubly unlikely option)

2. Keep stock motor and Trans and get tuned up that it will pass emmisions - if thats even possible

3 .Install a Howell Fuel injection system for better reliability/performance/emmisions

4. Buy a crate 350 ( yes a crate because id rather install new and not have to trust that someone else's motor is in good shape) If i go this route can i keep my stock trans ( i believe the 999?) or will i need to swap also?

my plan is to mainly use on street but also be able to use as a weekend warrior.

Thanks

rear.jpg   interior-dash.jpg   jeep.jpg  
aufan is offline   Reply With Quote