1985 CJ7 electrical questions (cut the red wire???) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1985 CJ7 electrical questions (cut the red wire???)

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 08-17-2011, 11:47 AM   #1
nyolles

1985 CJ7 electrical questions (cut the red wire???)

So I’m starting the tear down of my 1985 CJ7 258 with air conditiong. After ripping out the hack jobs for the radio and the Viper alarm system, I found the wiring was actually pretty clean. After hours of researching JeepForum, wiring diagrams – which I have no experience in reading, and the service manual, I just have a few questions about my electrical system.

I’ve done my research and to try to make things easy, I’ve labeled a few photos from my Jeep. I know there are a lot of questions jammed into a small space, but hopefully you experienced guys can help me.

A – The tachometer even though my Jeep doesn’t have one. My only question is about the note in the wiring diagram that I found saying "4 CYL ONLY". My Jeep has an inline 6. What does this mean?

B – I believe this is for the clock that didn’t come with my Jeep and the connector just needs to slide up and over the steering column to the other side. Correct?

There are no light bulb sockets for A and B though.

C – I think this is for the turn signal flasher despite the fact that the fuse box has a circular place designated for it. Correct? Quadratec and Jeep4x4Center have two parts listed 552 and 224, which do I want?

D – 4 wires (Yellow, Red, Orange, and White) coming through the firewall into the harness on the engine side. I have no idea where these go – absolutely none. This would be my biggest question.