1984 CJ7 that i am trying to get running again - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1984 CJ7 that i am trying to get running again

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 07-09-2011, 04:02 PM   #1
JustinCJ7
1984 CJ7 

1984 CJ7 that i am trying to get running again

Ok here goes, i am new to working on jeeps but have been around them in some way all my life. Right now i have an 84 CJ7 with stock 5 speed transmission and a hydraulic clutch. It had been sitting for about 6-7 years because of registration issues and emissions, it was not mine so i did not have much say in the issues but now i have taken to getting it road worthy and bringing it back to life. My first task was to get the clutch working again, i took it off cleaned both the master and slave and put it back in only to realize that i was broken before i even touched it because the push-rod for the slave had nothing to attach it to the clutch "swingarm" (i know that i not correct but it is the best way to describe it) so even if it would engage it would have now way to pull it back when the clutch was let off. I am at a loss of what i need to do at this point, i think i need a new slave but the only ones i see have now way to connect it to the clutch it is just a rod. If anyone has pictures or anything that shows how this thing should look that would be amazing because then i would know where i need to be with this assembly. This is my first project jeep and while i may not have the greatest mechanical knowledge out there i am pretty quick on the uptake of information once i see how something should be done. Thank you for your assistance and i look forward to getting so