1984 CJ Slow Novice Rebuild...Here goes nothing! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1984 CJ Slow Novice Rebuild...Here goes nothing!

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Unread 08-07-2012, 09:12 AM   #1
AggieBoxer
1984 CJ7 

1984 CJ Slow Novice Rebuild...Here goes nothing!

Howdy! I finally got my Jeep to my new place and in position to start working on it. Here are a few pics!

Going to clean the workspace off today and start tearing it down. Since I am fairly new to restoring vehicles, it's probably going to be a VERY slow process, but I have time. Since it's not covered right now, I have some tarps that I will use to keep water off. Hopefully, I'll be building a carport soon!

Here is what I want to do with it (in order):

1)Replace the transmission. Got a T5 in it right now that appears to have finally given out. This includes the clutch. Need to look at it, although I think the clutch is in still good shape.

2)Replace the brake system. I think I am going to do a complete overhaul of the brake
system (which should be lots of fun!).

3)Real axle and differential housing needs to be cleaned. Maybe even replaced.

4)Shocks and leaf spring replacement for front and back.

5)Exhaust system overhaul. Most of the exhaust appears to be in rough shape. I'll inspect the gas tank and replace that if needed, as well. Pretty basic fix.