Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

1983 Jeep CJ 6 Cyl Smokes Badly

3K views 52 replies 10 participants last post by  vespaholic 
#1 · (Edited)
I'm new to this forum.
I just picked up a 1983 CJ with a 6 cylinder engine.
I'm trying to figure out what steps to take to figure out what it going on with it.
Any input would be appreciated.
First off the Jeep starts, runs and drives great.
This is my first CJ and it has more power than I thought it would have.
Mileage is 151K, but I have no knowledge of any possible rebuilds.
It smokes constantly at idle.
I think I smell gas in the oil.
The oil was recently changed (according to the prior owner) but is very black and seems very thin.
I pulled the PCV and it made no difference in the amount of smoke.
It needs a carb gasket for sure as it is sucking air at the base.
What has me stumped is the power that it has.
If the rings were bad and I was losing compression, I think it would be less powerful.
Thanks in advance!
Tony

See less See more
#2 ·
First, is the smoke black or white? If white, you have coolant leaking into your cylinders and it's getting burned. This is no bueno. If it's black:

I would start by making sure the carburetor is a-okay. It sounds like you are simply running rich. This might just be an adjustment problem, but it could also be a gasket problem. Many times when people are selling their CJ's, they haven't been driven in a while, and the carburetor might be gummed up or have dry rotted gaskets. I recommend you buy a rebuild/gasket kit, replace the gaskets, & clean everything with carb cleaner. If your not sure how to do this, throw up a picture of your carb/ tell us what it is, and I can help you find instructions.

I am a little concerned that you smell gas in the oil, and that is seems thin. I would still try the carburetor kit first.

#4 ·