1983 CJ7 Project - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1983 CJ7 Project

USA Standard Chromoly Front Axle Shaft Kits with Dana 30 4Eliminate Hood Flutter!!!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Unread 03-24-2013, 12:52 PM   #1
Stormpaw
1983 CJ7 

1983 CJ7 Project

I have been lurking about the forum here for years, and thought it was about time I tried to contribute. I figured I would share the things I have been working on. Keep in mind I am no expert, but maybe someone can learn from my mistakes.

Firsts the basics: The Jeep is a 1983 CJ7. The drive train consists of a 1978 Chevy 350 engine, 1972 SM465 transmission, Dana300 transfer case, Dana30 front axle and a AMC20 rear axle. My overall goal it to keep the Jeep street worthy while restoring it to a somewhat original appearance and improving performance whenever possible. It may see some difficult terrain from time to time, but but mostly it is a daily driver.

I bought the Jeep back in 2010. After a little maintenance (and a transmission swap), we went for a quick drive drive (4500 miles) up the Alcan highway and a four day ferry ride to my island home (in Alaska).

When I bought the Jeep the T5 was pretending to be a T4 (overdrive was shot) so I bought and rebuilt a SM465 and an adapter (from Novak.) After a lot of cursing and more than a little blood it fit right in.

Oddly enough the Jeep was still geared a little high with the 3.31:1 axle gear ratio (soon to be changed.) No wonder the overdrive went out. Other than the fact that it was a T5 behind a Chevy 350 (as if that wasn't enough) in overdrive (.86) at 2500 RPM with 32" tires it should have be going around 85mph according to my calculations. In other words way to high.

Here you can see my hack job to make the SM465 fit.