1979 CJ7 Build Thread - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > 1979 CJ7 Build Thread

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!

View Poll Results: Which direction should I go?
Weekend Mud Machine, don't fix the body 36 17.39%
Beach cruiser, fix the body 61 29.47%
Resto-Mod. Nice body and paint with a screamin motor 110 53.14%
Voters: 207. You may not vote on this poll

Unread 10-17-2008, 12:32 PM   #1
danheit
1979 CJ7 

1979 CJ7 Build Thread (Pic Heavy)

Well guys, I have never done a build thread before, although I have built 6 Jeeps since being a member of JF. I figured that this one would be a great one to follow up on. I have thrown around some pics already in different threads, but here is the official one for the ole girl. Here goes:

1979 CJ7, purchased by me on 10/14/2008 for $300 USD.
Came with several boxes of extra parts, incl. new seat covers, xtra steering wheel, some original parts, xtra chrome air cleaner, carb tuning kit,etc.
304 V8 AMC motor, Crane Cam, Edelbrock Intake and carb, HP Ignition, etc.
Turbo 400 Auto Trans, stock
Quadratrac T-case with Low Range, Stock
Jeep is believed to be a Levi's Edition, or at least have a good bit of Levi's upgrades from the dealer.
Jeep was purchased from the second owner, who has owned it since nearly new. All service records were included with the Jeep.
Front and Rear axles are "custom trussed", supposedly by Richard (****) Cepek himself, although I have not found any service records indicating this. However, I have known the PO for some time, and believe him to be an honest guy.
Jeep has a Skyjacker SoftRide 2.5" lift and 33"tires
Body is shot.