Zero steer - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > General Discussion > Zero steer

BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!XJ Rail Sale!

Unread 11-18-2006, 12:06 PM   #1
jeepramnauth
2010 JK Wrangler 

Zero steer

Hey guys, I'm a mechanical engineering student and for one of my final projects in my CAD (catia) class I designed a zero-steer (found on the jeep hurricane) system. I have to state the practical uses for my design. So, I was just wondering if you guys could help me out. So the question basically is:

-How would such a system (turning 360 degrees in the same spot- zero turing radius) benifit off road driving?

jeepramnauth is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-18-2006, 12:23 PM   #2
NaeKid
JF Administrator, eh?

1988 YJ Wrangler 

Well - the best thing I could think of as a practical use would be parking downtown. There are times that I have tried to park, and no matter what I did, my vehicle would not fit into the space.

Just to let you know, I have parked long-box trucks into spaces where there was only 2" of space between the front and rear of the truck by the time I was finished parking it. Ya - there might have been a couple of little "bumps" in the process, but nothing that would cause damage. In fact, I did that very thing last night parking between two of my other vehicles, just to see if I could do it. I did it!
  • Silver 2006 TJ Unlimited, zombie ready as the daily-driver
  • a Kawasaki KLR650 DualSport bike

- - - - - - -TEOTWAWKI- - - - - - -

NaeKid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-18-2006, 12:49 PM   #3
JeepFreak91