Had a thought...yes it hurts sometimes... - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > General Discussion > Had a thought...yes it hurts sometimes...

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Reply
Unread 01-07-2010, 12:41 PM   #1
Contra
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 1,297
Had a thought...yes it hurts sometimes...

i have an extra compressor in my garage at home, (as i use my large belt compressor for home use)

it is a 110volt 15 amp 1.5hp, 2.5 gallon

i was thinking about putting it in my jeep for OBA, but I wanted to hard wire it and not have to use an inverter, can i re-wire the compressor to make it DC some how?

it is fairly new and if i can seperate the tank it would be a great addition...

__________________
Ever Gone Geocaching?
Opencaching
Contra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-07-2010, 01:53 PM   #2
93jeepyj
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: windsor locks, CT
Posts: 2,686
You would have to find a dc motor and controls for it but its not impossible.
93jeepyj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-07-2010, 02:12 PM   #3
Indy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 2,990
Going back to electrical, and it's a long way back so forgive me if I do the math wrong. But at full load the AC compressor is going to use 1650 Watts of power. To do the same with a 12v system you need to be able to provide continuous 137.5 amps. That's a lot
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-07-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
Contra
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Posts: 1,297
i might be wrong, but it is a 15 amp motor and that means roughtly 1800 watts right?

where do you get 137.5 amps?

i guess i will do things the easy was and get a pre built, i just wanted to use what i had
__________________
Ever Gone Geocaching?
Opencaching
Contra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-07-2010, 04:12 PM   #5
Otahyoni
Registered User
1986  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contra View Post
i might be wrong, but it is a 15 amp motor and that means roughtly 1800 watts right?

where do you get 137.5 amps?

i guess i will do things the easy was and get a pre built, i just wanted to use what i had
Watts Law is where he got the 137.5 amps. Watts Law states P(watts)=V(volts) x I(amps).
So P= 110v x 15 amps = 1650 watts
To go to 12v you'd take P divided by V = I
So 1650/12 = I(amps) = 137.5 amps

Now there's more than you really wanted to know...

EDIT: Hey! I actually used something i learned in school!
__________________
~Chris
Quote:
And all of the diodes may have committed suicide, leaving you with a fun whirly thing under the hood that produces nothing.
Otahyoni is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-08-2010, 01:23 AM   #6
Indy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 2,990
Yeppers, 110v can do the same job with a lot less amperage than 12v can. You could still use the tank and get a different compressor, but I think you would be wasting an otherwise usable compressor considering you can get a 7g tank for less than $20.

Sell the compressor, use the money to buy your 12v setup.
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-08-2010, 09:21 AM   #7
Mickey_D
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 40 3'42.36"N 112 2'16.73"W, Utah
Posts: 6,791
Contra, does your Jeep have A/C? If so, does it still work?

If it has A/C and it doesn't work, why not convert to OBA?

If it doesn't have A/C why not grab the bracket and compressor from the wrecking yard and put OBA in. You can use the tank, safety valve, gauge and pressure switch from the 110V compressor. All you need is the hoses, oiler, dryer and a couple 3 way manifolds.
__________________
1997 ZJ 5.2 Orvis, Baby!
1953 Willys M100 trailer Tagalong
________________
[_][][][][][][][][_]


Mickey_D is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-08-2010, 04:30 PM   #8
Otahyoni
Registered User
1986  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 160
Does anyone know the output on an a/c compressor? I'd bet it's really high (good thing)... I had a spare a/c compressor that had a separate oil sump so it could run for a long time without burning up...
__________________
~Chris
Quote:
And all of the diodes may have committed suicide, leaving you with a fun whirly thing under the hood that produces nothing.
Otahyoni is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.