Demand for a searchable image database? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > General Discussion > Demand for a searchable image database?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 05-09-2012, 09:47 AM   #1
econstantin
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Demand for a searchable image database?

Hi all, I'm new to the Jeep community and think it's awesome how much support and sharing goes on between people. While I'm still learning a lot about building a rig, I build websites/systems for a living. I have this idea and am wondering if you think it be a good idea and worth doing.

I notice a lot of people request photos of a particular rig setup (i.e. TJ w/4" SL on 33s) -- often there are some good photos in thread, however it's not always evident what to search for across treads, and photos are usually interspersed with other comments.

What if you could do a search based on for model, lift types, wheel sizes, etc. and get the results in the form of a photo gallery of matching rigs?

I think it'd be relatively straightforward to build a basic website to allow this, a possibly even an iPhone app to allow people to quickly & easily take a photo, tag it with appropriate rig-info and upload it directly.

Anyways, would like to hear your thoughts / feed back on this idea.

econstantin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-14-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
econstantin
1994 YJ Wrangler 

If it wasn't clear from my original post, I'd be happy to build out the site/app -- I'd just need some community input/feedback.
Unread 05-14-2012, 06:53 PM   #3
WhiteOut
Web Wheeler

1998 ZJ