Connecting computer to a TV? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
_TIM_
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 740
Connecting computer to a TV?

Hey guys i was hoping someone might be able to help me out with this. I recently got a new 32in Samsung Tv for my Bday and found out it can be used as a monitor for my Macbook pro, the only problem is I have no idea how to connect the two. I went out and got a cable that connects from the tv to the laptop and switched the source on the tv to PC, but nothing happens when I connect it. Is there some kind of button I have to hit to switch the screen to the tv? Also, will I have to change the resolution on the laptop to acomidate for the larger screen? Any and all advice is appreciated.

-Tim

1998 tj|chili pepper red|
_TIM_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:26 PM
Otahyoni
Registered User
 
Otahyoni's Avatar
1986  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 160
My laptop has a S-Video out, so thats how i connect my TV. And i have to change the resolution on the TV to match the screen size, but i dont have to change the laptop.

~Chris
Quote:
And all of the diodes may have committed suicide, leaving you with a fun whirly thing under the hood that produces nothing.
Otahyoni is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:30 PM
EarpWJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SJ, CA
Posts: 214
I dont know on a mac, but on most/all PC laptops theres a function button to switch display output on the lap top, like check your keyboard, there might be some button with two overlapping squares.
EarpWJ is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:31 PM
jb4
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,627
one the tv which of the following do you have?

VGA port (blue connector)
DVI port (white connector)
HDMI port (small black connector)

then which macbook pro do you have? if its one that has a display port then you need

Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)

which is an apple display port to DVI adapter - you can then hook it up to the DVI port directly or the HDMI port with a DVI->HDMI adapter

HDMI Cable, Home Theater Accessories, HDMI Products, Cables, Adapters, Video/Audio Switch, Networking, USB, Firewire, Printer Toner, and more!


if you only have a VGA port (unlikely) here is the apple display port to VGA adapter

Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)

honestly S-Video isn't worth the time or hassle any more because the quality is such crap and 99.99% of HD TV's have a DVI/HDMI port and most have a VGA port


edit:

On my macbook when you connect the cable with the TV on it will automatically work - so what port are you hooking up to and just for giggles - whats the model number of the Samsung TV - I've seen some sets that have DVI ports but will not accept input from computers (stupid, I know)
jb4 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:37 PM
waterboarder
Registered User
 
waterboarder's Avatar
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 6,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIM_ View Post
Hey guys i was hoping someone might be able to help me out with this. I recently got a new 32in Samsung Tv for my Bday and found out it can be used as a monitor for my Macbook pro, the only problem is I have no idea how to connect the two. I went out and got a cable that connects from the tv to the laptop and switched the source on the tv to PC, but nothing happens when I connect it. Is there some kind of button I have to hit to switch the screen to the tv? Also, will I have to change the resolution on the laptop to acomidate for the larger screen? Any and all advice is appreciated.
Need more info. Go to the Displays control panel on the Mac. See if it is detecting the TV at all. If it is, play with the resolution settings. Also, make sure you have the TV set to the right input. The connector you are connecting to should be labeled something like "video 1", "video 2", etc. Make sure the TV is set to whatever it is. Report back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4 View Post
then which macbook pro do you have? if its one that has a display port then you need

Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)
You're assuming he has a TV with a DVI port. That may very well be the case, but he doesn't say in the OP.

Quote:
you can then hook it up to the DVI port directly or the HDMI port with a DVI->HDMI adapter
Quote:
if you only have a VGA port (unlikely) here is the apple display port to VGA adapter

Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)
Same comment above.

Quote:
honestly S-Video isn't worth the time or hassle any more because the quality is such crap and 99.99% of HD TV's have a DVI/HDMI port and most have a VGA port
Not everyone has an HD TV or a TV with a DVI/HDMI port, or even a VGA port. We don't. But the S-Video connection to the laptop works great when streaming movies from Netflix.
waterboarder is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:39 PM
Pvt_Joker
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Omaha
Posts: 757
You most likely have to go to display settings and change your output.
Pvt_Joker is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
_TIM_
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 740
Wow thanks for the quick responces guys, looks like I have to look at some things when i get home from work tonight I will be sure to report back.

1998 tj|chili pepper red|
_TIM_ is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:43 PM
jb4
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterboarder View Post
Need more info. Go to the Displays control panel on the Mac. See if it is detecting the TV at all. Also, make sure you have the TV set to the right input. The connector you are connecting to should be labeled something like "video 1", "video 2", etc. Make sure the TV is set to whatever it is. Report back.

You're assuming he has a TV with a DVI port. That may very well be the case, but he doesn't say in the OP.

Same comment above.

Not everyone has an HD TV or a TV with a DVI/HDMI port, or even a VGA port. We don't. But the S-Video connection to the laptop works great when streaming movies from Netflix.
he said its a brand new Samsung 32" tv - they dont make a single 32" CRT set so I'm safely going to say he has one of the three ports I mentioned.
jb4 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:45 PM
waterboarder
Registered User
 
waterboarder's Avatar
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 6,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4 View Post
he said its a brand new Samsung 32" tv - they dont make a single 32" CRT set so I'm safely going to say he has one of the three ports I mentioned.
Well, if you happen to know Samsung doesn't make CRT TVs, then there you go.
waterboarder is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:47 PM
jb4
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,627
I said they did not make a 32" CRT

http://www.samsung.com/ae/consumer/t...getype=subtype

even their "slim fit" quasi CRT's dont come in 32"
jb4 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:48 PM
waterboarder
Registered User
 
waterboarder's Avatar
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 6,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIM_ View Post
Wow thanks for the quick responces guys, looks like I have to look at some things when i get home from work tonight I will be sure to report back.
Do you happen to know which cable you used to hook up to the TV? Did you use any little "pigtail" adaptor from Apple? That's generally the most pain-free route. We use the s-video pigtail for my wife's laptop and it works great. They make similar adapters for other kinds of TVs. Note that simply making a physical connection often isn't good enough, because the video card in the computer may not put out a TV-compatible signal (this is particularly true with VGA connections). Even though you may physically be able to connect it, doesn't mean it will work without an adapter.
waterboarder is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:49 PM
waterboarder
Registered User
 
waterboarder's Avatar
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 6,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4 View Post
I said they did not make a 32" CRT
OK, well, if you happen to know Samsung doesn't make 32" CRT TVs, then there you go.
waterboarder is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
_TIM_
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 740
I believe I have a vga out from the tv and the "pigtail" that was mentioned from the mac to another vga input on the end of the "pigtail"

1998 tj|chili pepper red|
_TIM_ is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 06:52 PM
waterboarder
Registered User
 
waterboarder's Avatar
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 6,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIM_ View Post
I believe I have a vga out from the tv and the "pigtail" that was mentioned from the mac to another vga input on the end of the "pigtail"
OK, in that case, you want to make sure the TV is using the correct "video input" as I noted above (and since you set it to PC, it may be), and check to ensure the Mac detects the tv as an additional display, and set the resolution to something that works with the TV. Most likely, if you set the tv to "PC" input and fiddle with the Displays control panel on the Mac, you'll get an image of some kind on the TV.
waterboarder is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-05-2010, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
_TIM_
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 740
Sp I got home and plugged the computer in and wouldn't ya know, it worked. I played around with the resolution a bit and it looks great. Thanks for all the help guys

1998 tj|chili pepper red|
_TIM_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Help connecting to Xbox Live jccJeep General Discussion 3 12-25-2009 08:32 PM
I need help connecting my GPS to my laptop tacweapon General Discussion 5 09-06-2009 10:06 PM
connecting 2 computers? RnEmOvr General Discussion 7 05-20-2009 06:18 AM
Connecting PC to internet AlTheKillerr General Discussion 21 11-04-2008 08:58 PM
connecting two nylon straps Mindvirus Trailers & Towing 4 10-12-2007 05:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome