Computer guys: Acer Aspire harddrive ?? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-07-2010, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
cheepjeep96
Registered User
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbus, Montana
Posts: 355
Computer guys: Acer Aspire harddrive ??

My friends Acer Aspire one recently took a dump on him, the motherboard (where the power supply plugs into) has completely fried itself. Well, he was wondering if I had a way to recover his date. Upon inspection of the harddrive, it looks like the SAME sata / sata power has my desktops. Can I just plug it into my desktop and recover the date off that way?

Sorry if this is the wrong section.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chance_p
i have come to the conclusion that snow kills braincells
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy
If you only have the 1 clutch however, I'd suggest keeping it if you expect to move by anything other than 1. gravity or 2. transcontinental drift. Both are time tested to work, but you might not get exactly where you want to go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapfix View Post
Scanner? You don't even have doors... :p
cheepjeep96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-07-2010, 09:59 PM
perfectcircle
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 844
recover his date or his data? If the first one, i don't think you want computer guys giving you relationship advice

I wouldn't think it'd be the same connection (2.5" drives i thought were always their own connection) but if it is in fact the same, plug it in and have at it. Can't hurt it that way. If it's not, find a buddy with a laptop and plug it in there and see if it boots up OR order a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter such as:
Notebook Hard Drive to Desktop Adapter (2.5" to 3.5") N/A

and plug it in that way.

If you're going to run it along side your normal hard drive you'll have to make sure the jumper settings are right or set it up as cable select. It may even give you the option to choose during bootup, i'm not sure.
perfectcircle is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-07-2010, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
cheepjeep96
Registered User
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbus, Montana
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by perfectcircle View Post
recover his date or his data? If the first one, i don't think you want computer guys giving you relationship advice

I wouldn't think it'd be the same connection (2.5" drives i thought were always their own connection) but if it is in fact the same, plug it in and have at it. Can't hurt it that way. If it's not, find a buddy with a laptop and plug it in there and see if it boots up OR order a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter such as:
Notebook Hard Drive to Desktop Adapter (2.5" to 3.5") N/A

and plug it in that way.

If you're going to run it along side your normal hard drive you'll have to make sure the jumper settings are right or set it up as cable select. It may even give you the option to choose during bootup, i'm not sure.
Data my friend.

anyways. It appears to have the same Sata connection has my desktop, I just don't know if their is a voltage difference between Laptop harddrives and desktop harddrives

Quote:
Originally Posted by chance_p
i have come to the conclusion that snow kills braincells
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy
If you only have the 1 clutch however, I'd suggest keeping it if you expect to move by anything other than 1. gravity or 2. transcontinental drift. Both are time tested to work, but you might not get exactly where you want to go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapfix View Post
Scanner? You don't even have doors... :p
cheepjeep96 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-07-2010, 10:38 PM
perfectcircle
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 844
hmm. Idk. My 3.5" drive says

5VDC 0.64A
12VDC 0.24A

and my 2.5" drive:

5VDC 1A

if that helps any..
perfectcircle is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-07-2010, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
cheepjeep96
Registered User
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbus, Montana
Posts: 355
Ah. Well, I plugged it in anyways, Works just fine Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chance_p
i have come to the conclusion that snow kills braincells
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy
If you only have the 1 clutch however, I'd suggest keeping it if you expect to move by anything other than 1. gravity or 2. transcontinental drift. Both are time tested to work, but you might not get exactly where you want to go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapfix View Post
Scanner? You don't even have doors... :p
cheepjeep96 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Hey Computer Guys: I have a program that I want to put on another computer... XJMuscle98 General Discussion 9 09-17-2009 08:07 AM
Computer guys.. need some help cheepjeep96 General Discussion 2 09-03-2007 01:52 PM
Question on computer harddrive space jzmtl General Discussion 12 02-18-2007 06:20 AM
For you computer guys! RIOGRANDE General Discussion 4 02-03-2004 12:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome