commuting in chicago with motorcycle..advice? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-15-2015, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
jbanner91

commuting in chicago with motorcycle..advice?

Im new to Illinois. Is there any advantage (wrt traffic and navigation) to commuting with a motorcycle? I don't mean for gas, (obviously an advantage) but I mean would it be any faster?
Specifically, are you allowed to go in between cars when you have a motorcycle in Illinois or do you get ticket? I have to go from hyde park to des plaines at 4pm weekdays which as I understand it is the all time worst time for traffic right? But would a motorcycle help in any way or pointless?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 08-16-2015, 03:37 PM
jnicewan
1995 ZJ 

I would suggest looking up motorcycle laws for Illinois and even Chicago, but it looks like lane splitting is a no-no.
post #3 of 13 Old 08-16-2015, 08:02 PM
rjbruzan
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Is your life insurance paid up? I drive in to the city daily and would not feel comfortable riding a cycle with all the idiots on the road texting.
Ron

Of all the things Ive lost
The one I miss most is my mind

Its like a fart in a windstorm
It smells good but thats about it

Registered Six Offender
Home of the Buzzin Half Dozen
post #4 of 13 Old 08-17-2015, 05:24 AM
tyvanwie
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Even if a cop sees you lane splitting, how is he going to catch you in traffic?...

I don't even own a jeep anymore
post #5 of 13 Old 08-17-2015, 05:36 AM
Shadownwpa
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
It's pretty much a national things now that bikes get to use the carpool lane. That would be a benefit in my book. I won't even consider splitting lanes in an area unfamiliar with it, people get pissed off and it just takes a second for a car to not look and cut over.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/shadownwpa-91ish-yj-build-thread-1857154/
post #6 of 13 Old 08-17-2015, 05:39 AM
xrunndonex
1994 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadownwpa View Post