Auto parts Store Policy: Is this right? - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > General Discussion > Auto parts Store Policy: Is this right?

SYE Kits from CCOR! 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Unread 09-04-2013, 06:28 AM   #16
vadslram
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by colojeepguy View Post
I've been selling auto parts since 1979, and this is exactly right.
But how many people come in and say I want part # X?
99.9% of the time they come in and say I need X for a whatever make, model, year, and engine. And the computer tells them the part #. Heck even if you knew one manufacturers part # you wouldn't know them all or what the parts place inventory part # was.

vadslram is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2013, 09:24 AM   #17
festerw
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Most of the time even if you have a part number they still want to look it up. I've had the following conversation a bunch of times.

Me: I need a Purolator #FF509 (not the actual part number I just can't recall it at the moment)

CP: What vehicle is it for?

Me: It's a fuel filter for my boat, just look up the number and you can order it.

CP: We don't carry boat parts.

Me: Just look up FF509, it'll show up.

CP: Oh we do carry it and it's special order.

Me: I know I'd like 2 please.
Unread 09-04-2013, 09:34 AM   #18
Kuntryboy816
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by festerw View Post
Most of the time even if you have a part number they still want to look it up. I've had the following conversation a bunch of times.

Me: I need a Purolator #FF509 (not the actual part number I just can't recall it at the moment)

Me: It's a fuel filter for my boat, just look up the number and you can order it.