another new-bee question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > General Discussion > another new-bee question

Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-Gear2007-2014 Jeep Wrangler Black (Paint to Match) Grille2007-2014 Jeep Wrangler Black Sun Shade (Rugged Ridge)

Unread 09-09-2001, 03:23 AM   #1
eliot22

another new-bee question

I'm moving to San Diego in a couple of months and was thinking "San Diego is made for Wranglers!" Sooo, I have decided on a 2002 X model. Since I am new to the Jeep world I was wondering what the important options that I should get. It will be for 99% street use (I say that now, but I'm sure I'll change my mind with my first 4x4 excursion!).
I definitely want some rims and large tires. I was thinking 15x8 rims with 31" tires. Would I be OK without a lift? Should I get 3.73 gears? I have 3.73's on my Mustang and they are a pain in the @ss on the highway.
I'm not worried about frills such as A/C, since the top will be off 24/7.
I see that cloth seats are now standard on anything above a SE, will this be an issue with the occasional open-top rainfall?

Sorry for all the new-bee questions and thanks in advance.
Eliot

eliot22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-09-2001, 04:03 AM   #2
eliot22

I forgot to mention that it will be a 5-spd (when considering gear ratio).
Unread 09-09-2001, 10:13 AM   #3
Wicked YJ

I would most definatly get the 3.73 gears, you will like them a whole lot better if you get a lift and bigger tires. I don't know how much stuff you want, but you can get a Dana 44 axle option instead of the Dana 35. Cloth seats can be covered with waterproof seat covers from bestop, wet okela, and so on. ac would be nice, but I think, not quite sure, it is hard to do a body lift.