JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f7/)
-   -   1st JEEP, gotta few questions (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f7/1st-jeep-gotta-few-questions-955007/)

BERL 01-23-2010 01:10 PM

1st JEEP, gotta few questions

I have always dreamed of having a Jeep, and my dream came true about 2 hours ago. I bought a 1999 Wrangler SE, hard and soft top, 31" Dunlop Mud Rover's, with no rust, and 100,000 miles for $6000. I think I got a pretty good deal. It was previously owned by a friend who was a mechanic and took great care of it. My concern is that he told me it got about 13 mpg, which I expected. I have been driving it all morning interstate/city, and getting about 9.5 mpg. My question is, do you think the mileage is off because of the enlarged tire size paired with the 4 cyl, or a combination of the gear ratio/4 cyl/31" tires(I think it is 4.11 ratio)?

Im new to this, and don't know much about this stuff. Sorry if this is a stupid question, but any help would be appreciated.

Thank's in advance,
BERL

Tarukai 01-23-2010 01:16 PM

It's probably a combination of the gearing/tire size/engine, as well as city driving. City driving is horrible on these things.

if you either reduced the gearing a bit or made the tires smaller, you'd be going better with mileage.

FmrVette 01-23-2010 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BERL (Post 8748377)
..a 1999 Wrangler SE, hard and soft top, 31" Dunlop Mud Rover's...he told me it got about 13 mpg, which I expected. I have been driving it all morning interstate/city, and getting about 9.5 mpg. My question is, do you think the mileage is off because of the enlarged tire size paired with the 4 cyl?

BERL

Berl,

Welcome to the forum and Jeep ownership.

How are you determining gas mileage? GPS or odometer? If the original owner mounted 31" tires and didn't change the speedometer gear then the odometer will be off.