Black powder scope/red dot - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > Outdoor Recreation > Black powder scope/red dot

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 12-05-2013, 01:56 PM   #1
JFM626
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Black powder scope/red dot

I have a muzzle loading replica of a Hawken, I have removed the rear sight and put on a burris mount that will accept either a 1 inch or 30mm tube type sight. I have no experience with scoping a muzzle loader, but would prefer to use a red dot, not sure what to use though as most seem to be designed for short yardage and I will be shooting out to 100 meters.
Any body use a red dot or pro/cons etc?

JFM626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2013, 09:14 PM   #2
Indy

100 yards is short range. Any will be fine.

Never underestimate the power of stupid.
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2013, 11:14 PM   #3
chriskeenan
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Any red dot will work and they all offer 1x magnification, but you can always stick a flip to side magnifier behind it for longer shots or aging eyes.

Vortex makes a tube style RDS that fits in a 30mm ring and can have a 2x mag lenses attached to it, but its a 4moa dot.

Dot size is important, for example a 2moa Aimpoint T1 or H1 will make the dot cover 2in of a target at 100 meters, a 4moa dot will cover 4in of target.

Primary Arms sells some nice quality Aimpoint knock offs for around 100$, a real Aimpoint or Eotech will set you back about 400-600$ https://www.primaryarms.com/Red-Dot-...Arms-s/903.htm
chriskeenan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2013, 08:31 AM   #4
JFM626
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskeenan View Post