xk new head unit - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 02-09-2010, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
2003 WJ 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 194
xk new head unit

has anyone put a new head unit in their commander? My friend was told that he can't because of the stock amp. Any info please help!! Thanks

03 WJ-Basically stock besides sound system.
SteveA1992 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 Old 02-09-2010, 09:31 PM
Registered User
2006 WK 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,696
If he's got the Boston system, he's got two options:

1. Buy a CANBUS adapter that will let him continue to use the stock amp. Totally plug-and-play. PAC and Scosche (among others) make 'em, they run around $125. Keep in mind this will also retain the stock crossover points (since the amp handles that), so it's not a good option if he wants to throw in a set of components for the front. Good option if you're keeping the stock speakers or throwing some new coaxials in the front doors and/or dash though. Crutchfield sells the PAC C2R-CHY4.

2. Buy and run the wiring for an amp bypass kit. Amp is out of the picture. Less money, more work. If you're not changing the speakers, this probably isn't a good option.

2006 WK Laredo 4x4 4.7L
1993 ZJ Laredo 4x4 4.0L Dead, sold, and rolling again
colinzj is online now  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
adding a head unit to WK with GPS BrianM83 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 10-14-2011 02:05 PM
swaping head unit moparrr07 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 12 07-16-2008 09:48 PM
What is this Head unit? Vee Ayt ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 09-01-2006 06:43 AM
New Head Unit Wynne ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 12-10-2005 08:57 PM
Head unit i have 5 jeeps ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 15 04-11-2005 05:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome