WK Remote Start Xpresskit and Smartstart Writeup - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 33 Old 12-25-2013, 05:33 PM
kona2four
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leo, IN
Posts: 19
First of all, great write up. I purchased the DBALL2, Xkloader, XL202 and T-Harness for my son's 2006 WK 3.7 Laredo as a Christmas present. We attempted to install today but have not been able to get it working.


A couple of things strike me as odd (besides the fact that it will power accessories but won't crank):
1) xpresskit says the flash goes okay but it shows my browser as Mozilla and not internet explorer.
2) after plugging the final blue connector to the DBALL2 I get a flashing orange light which indicates vehicle not ID'd. I turn key to "ON" per directions but still nothing. If I start the vehicle then green light flashes. I turn it off, hit the lock button and I'm good to go except ...


As I mentioned it will power accessories after hitting lock 3 times but it won't crank.


I'm at a loss. Does anyone have any suggestions.


Thanks,


Mike

kona2four is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 33 Old 12-28-2013, 11:26 AM
kona2four
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leo, IN
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona2four View Post
First of all, great write up. I purchased the DBALL2, Xkloader, XL202 and T-Harness for my son's 2006 WK 3.7 Laredo as a Christmas present. We attempted to install today but have not been able to get it working.


A couple of things strike me as odd (besides the fact that it will power accessories but won't crank):
1) xpresskit says the flash goes okay but it shows my browser as Mozilla and not internet explorer.
2) after plugging the final blue connector to the DBALL2 I get a flashing orange light which indicates vehicle not ID'd. I turn key to "ON" per directions but still nothing. If I start the vehicle then green light flashes. I turn it off, hit the lock button and I'm good to go except ...

As I mentioned it will power accessories after hitting lock 3 times but it won't crank.


I'm at a loss. Does anyone have any suggestions.


Thanks,


Mike
I just wanted to follow up with the"fix" Make sure you use good light. I connected a red yellow rather than a yellow red. Switched it around and works great. I am sofa king we todd did!
kona2four is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 02-15-2014, 07:48 PM
Btm495
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Da Burg PA
Posts: 11
Hey guys, I need a little help. I have the dball with the T harness. I hooked it up figuring it was plug and play. I programmed the module with the xloader from the site. Plugged the T harness in and attached the two seperate wires. Tried getting it all to work and nothing. My light started red and went to flashing green like it should. When i pull the key and hit the lock button to finish the program, the light goes to a solid red. I have it set to start by hitting lock 3x. I havnt had any luck yet. So is someting hooked up wrong or is it actually that tricky to get it to start from the lock 3x? Should I just add the xl202 with a rf to get it to work better?

I DO IT FOR THE ADRENALINE RUSH
� � � ��2000 Blue&Silver BUSA
� � � � 1999 Gixxer 600 #495 track bike � � � � 2001 Honda cr 250r
� � � � 2001 Grand cherokee I6
� � ��www.puresynthetics.com
Btm495 is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 02-15-2014, 08:18 PM
Btm495
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Da Burg PA
Posts: 11
This is getting installed on my 2006 SRT8 Grand Cherokee. I am trying to fix my signature and profile picture.

I DO IT FOR THE ADRENALINE RUSH
� � � ��2000 Blue&Silver BUSA
� � � � 1999 Gixxer 600 #495 track bike � � � � 2001 Honda cr 250r
� � � � 2001 Grand cherokee I6
� � ��www.puresynthetics.com
Btm495 is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 02-16-2014, 08:06 AM
Btm495
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Da Burg PA
Posts: 11
Just wanted to update . So much to my surprise this morning, I'm telling my wife that my remote start doesnt work. I hit the button 3x and presto she fires right up I alomst fell over. She was laughing. Said I should of seen my face. So that means that I wired her up correctly. I'm thinking I will prob get the added xl202 module and remotes to make it easier.

I DO IT FOR THE ADRENALINE RUSH
� � � ��2000 Blue&Silver BUSA
� � � � 1999 Gixxer 600 #495 track bike � � � � 2001 Honda cr 250r
� � � � 2001 Grand cherokee I6
� � ��www.puresynthetics.com
Btm495 is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 02-17-2014, 11:48 AM
DieselDevotion
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Btm495 View Post
Just wanted to update . So much to my surprise this morning, I'm telling my wife that my remote start doesnt work. I hit the button 3x and presto she fires right up I alomst fell over. She was laughing. Said I should of seen my face. I about ****. So that means that I wired her up correctly. I'm thinking I will prob get the added xl202 module and remotes to make it easier.
I've been using the 3x lock for quite a while now and it works flawlessly for me.

07 Grand Cherokee Limited 3.0L CRD QDII
89 5.9 Cummins powered F350
98 TDI Jetta
DieselDevotion is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 08-15-2014, 01:11 PM
davidtownsend
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Elkton
Posts: 626
Def want to do this asap! i love remote starts! Nice write up.

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.2L Limited
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L Hemi
davidtownsend is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 08-15-2014, 02:50 PM
murderedoutGC
Registered User
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 424
seems like one of the cheaper mods out there....nice write up

2015 GC Altitude White on black
murderedoutGC is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 07-28-2015, 12:50 AM
clemsonscj
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anderson
Posts: 347
WK Remote Start Xpresskit and Smartstart Writeup

I'm a bit confused about one thing with this thread. Does the OP have factory remote start or anything like that? Do you need an aftermarket remote start system already installed?

I have an 09 Overland GC with the 5.7 and factory remote start. I also already have a SmartStart module and Viper 5904 security/remote start system that I pulled out of my old truck. Can I just buy the DBALL and be good to go with just the SmartStart and factory remotes?

'09 Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L HEMI QUADRA-DRIVE II
Black WK Club #134
clemsonscj is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 07-28-2015, 05:16 PM
clemsonscj
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anderson
Posts: 347
Bump

'09 Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L HEMI QUADRA-DRIVE II
Black WK Club #134
clemsonscj is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 07-29-2015, 01:46 PM
clemsonscj
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anderson
Posts: 347
Bump again?

'09 Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L HEMI QUADRA-DRIVE II
Black WK Club #134
clemsonscj is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 02-02-2016, 12:33 PM
xsparta11x
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Marietta
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by clemsonscj View Post
I'm a bit confused about one thing with this thread. Does the OP have factory remote start or anything like that? Do you need an aftermarket remote start system already installed?

I have an 09 Overland GC with the 5.7 and factory remote start. I also already have a SmartStart module and Viper 5904 security/remote start system that I pulled out of my old truck. Can I just buy the DBALL and be good to go with just the SmartStart and factory remotes?
Kindda, If you purchase a DBALL, you can plug in your smart start module to it and get that going as long as it is still active. The DBALL will allow you to use the factory remote as a the start remote. Sorry I just resurrected this thread.
xsparta11x is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 05-17-2016, 03:48 PM
kryton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 44
Garage
Excellent write up & really helpful when it came to installing mine. The only issue I have which I hope someone can help with is my heated seats. They come on as programmed (either low or high, I've tried both) but even if it's boiling hot, they still come on like the dball doesn't care what temperature it is. Has anyone else had this issue?
kryton is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 05-18-2016, 07:55 AM
kryton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 44
Garage
Just spoken to DEI & they say my unit doesn't have this feature. I'm confused as others seem to be using it & it does work as far as turning the heated seats on at the correct level, its just ignoring outside temperature. Something weird going on here

Jeep; Rescuing Land Rovers since 1947
kryton is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 05-18-2016, 08:30 AM
wraycoli
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryton View Post
Just spoken to DEI & they say my unit doesn't have this feature. I'm confused as others seem to be using it & it does work as far as turning the heated seats on at the correct level, its just ignoring outside temperature. Something weird going on here

I know they said you don't have the "feature", but I find that hard to believe if you're updated to the latest firmware.

Just to cover the bases here, you do have the #7 feature programmed to an option other than "Always On", correct?



screenshot from page 20 on install/config doc:
http://directechs.blob.core.windows....ga20150626.pdf

08 WK 4.7 QTII Rocky Mtn|RC 2"|Bilstein 4600|MML|Wrangler AT Adventure 265/70/17 JKs 1.5" RC Spacer
wraycoli is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome