WK Rear Axle/Diff Question...need help fast! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum > WK Rear Axle/Diff Question...need help fast!

Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Savvy FREE SHIPPING!

Unread 11-21-2006, 07:32 PM   #1
jeepgaffer
2006 WK 

WK Rear Axle/Diff Question...need help fast!

Ok, so I'm new to the Jeep World, and to 4x4s in general, and while I'm not a mechanic, I'm not a complete idiot either. That being said, here's what may be my stupid question (bear with me)....

Six weeks ago, I purchased a used 2006 Laredo with about 15,000 miles on it. About three weeks ago I took it to the dealer to have the the oil changed and the front and rear differential fluids changed (per the service schedule). Fast forward to today...I was washing my Jeep when I happened to look under the vehicle and noticed something dangling inside the right rear wheel-area. When I crawled underneath to inspect it, I noticed that it was a rubber hose/tube that was hanging down from the rear axle. It appears to be connected on the top of the axle tube between the differential and the control arm. WHAT IS THIS? IS IT SUPPOSED TO BE LIKE THIS?

I never noticed it before, so I'm not sure if it is something that broke off, or if it is something the dealer mechanic left there, or what else it is. If it is a hose that came disconnected from somewhere else, I cannot tell where else it was connected. IS THIS A VENT TUBE or something else? Should it be connected or just hanging loose off the front of the axle?