TPMS question with new wheels - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Bullitt1680
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greer
Posts: 88
TPMS question with new wheels

I plan on buying new wheels in the near future, most likely a set of Moabs as soon as I find some locally.

This is the first time I have had a vehicle with TPMS. Would I have to take the sensors from my existing wheels and install them into the new wheels, or could I just run them without the sensors?

Is there something for the Grand Cherokee similar to the AEV Pro Cal for the JKs?

I could care less about a warning light or message that says "low pressor in X wheel" I just don't want to have the Jeep run in limp mode like I have seen happen on some other vehicles with these sensors.

CLIFF NOTES
new wheels soon
can I transfer existing TPMS sensors
can I turn off the sensors all together

Bullitt1680 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 07:21 PM
84foxgt
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 131
I can answer two of the three questions. Yes, you can swap the sensors in between wheels. No sensors means the light will be on. It will not put into any kind of limp mode.

2007 v6: Rough Country kit, Aries taillight gaurds, 2457517 Wrangler Silent Armors, LED interior lights, painted oe wheels Gunmetal, Topline 1.5" wheel spacers,SOLID rear diff cover,CREE backup lights,Hypertech Programmer
84foxgt is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
Bullitt1680
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greer
Posts: 88
Thanks for the info.
Bullitt1680 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 08:22 PM
tlash10
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Just make sure that when you change your wheels, that the sensors go back to the same spot that you took them off. For example the sensor that you take of the LF has to go back on the LF. If you dont everything will be out of wack.
tlash10 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 08:51 PM
JeepN4KC
Keep on Jeepin on........
 
JeepN4KC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blue Springs
Posts: 6,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlash10 View Post
Just make sure that when you change your wheels, that the sensors go back to the same spot that you took them off. For example the sensor that you take of the LF has to go back on the LF. If you dont everything will be out of wack.
That doesn't make a difference. When I rotate my tires I don't pull my TPMS sensors from the wheels to keep them in their current position.

~Mike~

Build Thread WK
Other Build Thread XJ
Sept '13/Jan '15/Jun '16 COTM
JeepN4KC is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 08:57 PM
JRLT
Registered User
2010 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mitchell
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepN4KC View Post
That doesn't make a difference. When I rotate my tires I don't pull my TPMS sensors from the wheels to keep them in their current position.
Yeah, that would make rotating my tires incredibly difficult.

2010 3.7L, 4XGuard Matrix, Fastman TB, TB Ground Mod, Injen CAI, 255/60/18 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Bilstein Shocks & Struts, Cruiser Alloy Wheels - Switchblade, Stillen Brakes, Cargo Light Strip Mod, Electric Ashtray Mod, Jet-powered, Monkey Navigated...
JRLT is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 11:15 PM
trax95008
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,255
1: The system will auto learn the location.

2: without sensors, you will get more that just a light. You will also get an annoying "chime" every time you start the vehicle, and a message that will take over your evic display
trax95008 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-28-2012, 11:36 PM Thread Starter
Bullitt1680
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greer
Posts: 88
Lol I already have a message because the spare is low apparently. I just need to convince AEV to make something like they make for the JKs. You can set it to read the pressure at 0 psi.
Bullitt1680 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-29-2012, 09:24 AM
nostaw22
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hollis
Posts: 402
Not sure what kind of safety inspection is required in your state, but you may want to check that they can fail your inspection if the TPMS isn't operating before you decide to leave them off... Not uncommon to require all vehicle safety systems to be operational for a state safety inspection.

JW

1998 XJ - built for offroading
2007 WK CRD - DashHawk, for towing the XJ
nostaw22 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-29-2012, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Bullitt1680
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greer
Posts: 88
No inspections here whatsoever.
Bullitt1680 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-25-2012, 07:58 PM
Jorghole
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kelso
Posts: 31
So I changed my wheels when I got the lift installed. The new wheels had new sensors installed. When I left the shop that installed the lift and the wheels they were reading but before I got home i got that chime and all sensors were dash lines. At times the Drivers Front indicates 29 psi and the others are still dashed lines. I have 36 psi in all 4 tires right now. I looked at the sales receipt and the sensors i got are 315 MHz. Any ideas?

2005 WK Limited, QD-II, 5.7L HEMI, Volant Cold Air Intake, 4" SL Lift, Rusty's leveling kit, DC Gun Metal wheels, 285/70-17 BFG AT KO, 4xGuard Front/Rear Skid, 4xGuard Diff Guard, SA Sliders, Gobi Rack, Cobra CB
Silver WK Club Member 55
Jorghole is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-25-2012, 08:18 PM
longboy
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 951
The sensors don't sound like they're the right ones, did they come with the wheels or were they new from the tire shop? I thought you were moving your WK sensors from your old wheels to the new ones?

I just checked WKjeeps.com and your 2005 should use 315mhz sensors like you got.

::edit:: Sorry, got you confused with the OP-

2006 5.7l WK
longboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
TPMS and after market wheels vtxkc WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 8 02-09-2011 09:42 AM
2007 WH/WK Can the TPMS handle 6 wheels?? johnv WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 4 03-21-2010 07:29 PM
'08 JK Rubi wheels w/TPMS on an /'02 WJ mrtosh ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 10-11-2009 12:33 PM
After market wheels and TPMS jutgin WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 19 09-09-2009 12:48 PM
SRT 8 wheels TPMS question.... 08WKJGC WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 10 05-30-2008 07:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome